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Dear Property Owner: 
 

It has come to our attention that your property may have experienced damage that 
might qualify for reassessment. State Law refers to this as “Reassessment of Property 
Damaged or Destroyed by Misfortune or Calamity.” If your property qualifies for 
reassessment, we will reduce the assessment and issue a correction that is prorated for 
the number of months that the property is in a damaged condition.  

 

“Misfortune or Calamity” means that the damage occurred through no fault of the 
property owner. Common examples include wind damage and wildfires. In order to 
qualify for reassessment, the physical damage must exceed $10,000 and the damaged 
property must be assessed. We have enclosed an Application for Reassessment. If you 
qualify for reassessment, please complete the attached form and return it to this office no 
later than 12 months after the date of damage. We strongly encourage you to include 
copies of repair estimates and photographs of the damaged property.  

 

You may continue to qualify for certain exemptions while you are repairing the 
property. On the reverse side of this letter, we explain what happens to the assessed 
value of property when damaged and when repaired. We hope that it answers any 
questions you may have about this process.  

 

Sincerely,  

 

Richard A. Ford 
Assessor-Recorder 



Damage or destruction to property due to calamity or misfortune is eligible for reassessment and a reduction in property taxes. 
Section 170.0 of the Revenue and Taxation Code of the State of California and County of Lake Code Section 18-39 through 
Section 18-44, govern how the damage property is reassessed.  

Calamities must be discovered within 12 months of the damage. If a calamity occurred more than 12 months prior to the 
discovery, the only remedy is a reduction in value as of the lien date, January 1.  

Applications  
Property on January 1st or the person who acquired the property after January 1st and is liable for the property taxes. If a 
calamity is discovered, an application will be sent to the person who is liable for the property taxes in the fiscal year in which 
the calamity occurred because, under State Law, an application for reassessment must be made by the person who owned the 
property. 

The application must be filed within 12 months of the date of damage. The damage must have been caused by misfortune or 
calamity without the fault of the owner or applicant. The damage to the taxable property must be in excess of $10,000. The 
application must be executed under penalty of perjury or, if executed outside the State of California, verified by an affidavit.  

If the requirements are met, the property will be reassessed to reflect the percentage of loss due to the misfortune or calamity. 
A roll correction will be processed and a corrected tax bill or refund will be processed by the Auditor. The reduction will be 
based on the reduction in value for the months that the property is in a damaged condition.  

If an application is not received, the Assessor is authorized to reassess the property. However, every effort must be made to 
obtain the necessary information from the property owner.  

Reassessment  
The appraiser must determine the percentage reductions in the value of the land, improvements and personal property. Those 
percentages are used to calculate the reassessment. For example, assume that a property that was worth $230,000 before a 
calamity experienced damage that destroyed a detached garage worth $15,000. The percentage calculation follows:  
 

   Before       After  % Change 

Market Value of Land     $  30,000    $  30,000                   0.0  

Market Value of Improvements    $200,000   $185,000                   7.5 

Total Value    $230,000   $215,000 

Assessed Value  % Change  Reassessed Value 

Land        $  15,000          0.0            $  15,000  

Improvements        $115,000          7.5           $106,375 

Total        $130,000         $121,375 

In this example, although the cost/value of the damage exceeds $10,000 the value will only be reduced by $8,625. Under no circumstances can 
the reduction exceed the actual loss.   

Reconstruction  
When the damaged property has been restored or repaired, the factored base year value of the damaged component is added 
back to the assessment roll. If partial reconstruction has occurred, the assessed value will be increased by an amount 
determined by multiplying the percent of the repair and the factored base year value of the damaged component.  

To continue our example, if the garage is reconstructed and it is 60% complete on the following lien date then $5,175 [factored] 
will be added to the roll. The assessed value of the property in its damaged condition is inflated by the same factor used on all 
properties. So, if the inflation factor for the year in question was 2%, the value added would be $5,278. On completion of the 
restoration, the factored base year value of the damaged component will be added to the roll. The restoration is subject to a 
supplemental assessment.  

New Construction  
If new construction occurs, the new construction is assessed consistent with the Revenue and Taxation Code. There is no 
provision for a property owner to “reconstruct” improvements that are larger than the original improvement. For example if a 
garage is reconstructed with additional square footage or as living area it will trigger an increase over the factored base year 
value.  
Annual Review  
It is necessary to review properties affected by calamities every year until the property and its base year value have been 
restored. The review is needed to ensure that the land value continues to inflate and the proper value for the improvements is 
enrolled.  
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APPLICATION FOR REASSESSMENT OF PROPERTY 
DAMAGED BY MISFORTUNE OF CALAMITY 

 

I hereby apply for reassessment of my property damaged by misfortune or calamity, where the degree of 
property damage is estimated to be in excess of $10,000 in market value in accordance with Section 170 of 
the California Revenue Code.  This claim must be filed with the County Assessor within 12 months of the 
date of the damage or destruction. 
 
Name of Applicant: ____________________________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address: ______________________________________________________________________ 
            Street        City   State           Zip Code 

Telephone No.: (       )_________________________     Email Address: __________________________ 

Address of Property Damaged:___________________________________________________________  
        Street        City   State           Zip Code 

Assessor’s Parcel Number: ___________________  Date of Damage: _________________________ 

Describe Damage to the Property:_________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________ 

Estimated Total Value of Property Immediately Before the Damage: _____________________________ 

Estimated Total Value of Property Immediately After the Damage: ______________________________ 

Estimated Cost to Repair Damages: _______________________________________________________  
(Please attach a copy of estimated insurance claim, contractor estimates for repairs/replacement and photos of damage) 
 
[   ] Please treat this claim as a Property Tax Deferral Claim pursuant to California Revenue and Taxation Code  
Section 194.1.  (Does not apply to properties with impound accounts) 
 

I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the damage occurred 
through no fault of my own and the above information is true, correct and complete to the best of my knowledge 
and belief. 
 

Signature___________________________________ Date__________________________________ 

Print Name__________________________________ 
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