Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
Mediterranean Fruit Fly, Oriental Fruit Fly, and the Glassy-winged Sharpshooter insect traps are placed in yards for 6 weeks and then rotated to another property. Melon Fruit Fly traps remain for approximately 10 weeks, and the Gypsy moth and Japanese Beetle traps remain in place for the trapping season which runs from the end of May through late August.
All insect traps are checked approximately every 2 weeks.
Insect traps are baited with a harmless pheromone only attractive to the specific insect pest. In the Oriental and Melon fly traps, there is also a small amount of pesticide in the lure. This pesticide is similar to the type normally found in flea collars. It will only affect insects responding to the lure involved with these traps.
If you find an insect trap on the ground, you can place it back in the tree and the trapper will fix it on their next servicing or you can call the office at 707-263-0217, and we will send a trapper out as quickly as possible to fix the trap.
Any plant and most unprocessed plant products from outside of California are required to be inspected upon arrival for proper certification against quarantined pests and for freedom from live pests. Please contact our office prior to transport.
The primary reason the Lake County Assessor is promoting the e-filing of the Property Statement is the storage of historical filing details by the taxpayer. When you e-file your Property Statement, the system will save the information filed and have it available for the subsequent year. As a result, the time it takes for you to e-file your Property Statement is minimized. Also, in an effort to maximize efficiency for the Assessor's office, the one-page Request to File Letter replaces multiple sheets of paper that have historically been sent for the Property Statement. The one-page letter saves postage for the Assessor as well as e-filing saves postage for the taxpayer.
Per the California Revenue and Taxation Code (Section 441), every person who owns, claims, possesses, or controls tangible personal property not specifically exempted, shall file a Property Statement upon request of the Assessor. Generally, personal property that is assessable consists of business property used in the conduct of a business (i.e., machinery and equipment, office furniture and equipment, tools, computer equipment, and leasehold improvements), boats, aircraft, and mobile equipment. Since you have received a Request to File Letter, you are required to e-file a Property Statement with the Assessor.
The e-filed Property Statement indicates that the Statement is to be filed by April 1. However, according to The California Revenue and Taxation Code (Section 441 and 463), the taxpayer has until May 7 (or the next business day if May 7 is on a weekend) to e-file the Statement. If not e-filed by May 7, our office must add a 10% late filing penalty. Note that the online portal for e-filing is open until 11:59 pm on May 31, however, the statement must be submitted by 11:59 on May 7 to be considered filed timely.
If you received a Request to File Letter, electronic filing is the preferred method of filing. Important information that you will need for e-filing is included in the Request to File Letter including your Assessment Number, Business Identification Number (BIN), and Property Statement Code (Form ID). To proceed with e-filing visit our e-File website.
If we received an e-filed Property Statement that is not completed properly, our office may return the Statement for proper completion. We will include a Send Back Letter with the returned Statement identifying the reason(s) it was returned. Also included will be a new Business Identification Number (BIN) that will be needed to access the online portal. Many of the remaining frequently asked questions will shed some insight on many of the common problems we find with Business Property Statements. After reviewing the Send Back Letter and these frequently asked questions, please contact our office if you still do not understand why it was sent back.
While completing the e-filed Property Statement, all items on the Statement must be addressed properly, including each of the following. Per Revenue and Taxation Code Section 441(g), the Assessor will not accept a statement determined to be in error. The following are typical problem areas on the Business Property Statement:
Per the instructions provided, it asks for you to make the necessary corrections to the name, mailing address, and location of the business property. Do this by re-keying the information. If the location of the property is incorrect, but you are still located in Lake County, please be sure to document the correct date in Part 1 (d). If you closed your business or moved out of Lake County, please complete, sign and date the "Business Closed, Sold, or Moved Form," and attached it as part of the return.
There are several companies that have software that generates a statement similar to the requested Property Statement. Per Revenue and Taxation Code Section 441.5, the Assessor has taken the position to not accept software-generated statements in lieu of the original. Software-generated statements may be used as an attachment to the original e-filed statement if all items are addressed properly. If not valid, your statement may be returned for correction and/or considered to be an invalid filing.
A. La Constitución de California define una comunidad de interés como:
Una comunidad de interés es una población contigua que comparte intereses sociales y económicos comunes que deben incluirse dentro de un solo distrito a los efectos de su representación justa y eficaz. Ejemplos de tales intereses compartidos son los comunes a un área urbana, un área rural, un área industrial o un área agrícola, y los comunes a áreas en las que las personas comparten niveles de vida similares, utilizan las mismas instalaciones de transporte, tienen oportunidades de trabajo similares., o tener acceso a los mismos medios de comunicación relevantes para el proceso electoral. Las comunidades de interés no incluirán relaciones con partidos políticos, incumbentes o candidatos políticos.
Sección 2 (d) (4) del Artículo XXI de la Constitución de California
Cuando los límites del Distrito de Supervisión deben ajustarse debido a cambios en la población, se hace un esfuerzo para asegurar que las Comunidades de Interés designadas permanezcan dentro de un solo Distrito de Supervisión, cuando sea posible, para permitir la representación más efectiva.
Con base en lo anterior, los siguientes ajustes parecerían más probables:
Se invita a los miembros del público a visitar la página de Redistribución de Distritos del Condado de Lake para obtener más información sobre el proceso.
Cualquier comentario, pregunta, comentario y aporte sobre este proceso se puede enviar por correo electrónico al personal del condado de Lake.
Una herramienta GIS está disponible para aquellos interesados en mapear sus comunidades de interés.
Se proporcionan instrucciones cuando se inicia el mapa y hay ayuda disponible mediante el icono de "signo de interrogación" en la parte superior derecha.
Para trazar los límites de una comunidad de interés utilizando nuestro mapa GIS:
County Administrative OfficeATTN: Redistricting 2021255 N Forbes StreetLakeport, CA 95453
Alternativamente, los residentes pueden usar la herramienta GIS para ubicar el área de su Comunidad de Interés e imprimir su mapa, y luego trazar los límites con una pluma de tinta, por ejemplo, y escanear y enviar por correo electrónico o enviar su mapa a la dirección anterior.
Cada diez años, los distritos deben rediseñarse para que cada distrito sea sustancialmente igual en población. Este proceso, llamado redistribución de distritos, es importante para garantizar que cada miembro de la junta represente aproximadamente la misma cantidad de electores. En el Condado de Lake, la Junta de Supervisores es responsable de trazar los Distritos de Supervisión. La redistribución de distritos se realiza utilizando los datos del censo de EE. UU., que generalmente se publican alrededor del 31 de marzo de 2021. Para el condado de Lake, el proceso de redistribución de distritos debe completarse antes del 15 de diciembre de 2021.
La redistribución de distritos determina qué vecindarios y comunidades son agrupadas dentro de un distrito con el fin de elegir un miembro de la Junta. La Junta de Supervisores buscará su aporte y opinión para seleccionar el próximo mapa de distritos para nuestros Distritos de Supervisión. Usted tiene la oportunidad de compartir con la Junta de Supervisores cómo cree que los límites del distrito deben ser rediseñados para representar mejor a su comunidad. Para obtener más información sobre cómo funciona el proceso, envíe un correo electrónico al personal del condado de Lake.
Vea un mapa de los distritos supervisores actuales del condado de Lake.
En las medidas posibles, las líneas de distrito se adoptarán utilizando los siguientes criterios:
Además, no se establecerán límites con el fin de favorecer o discriminar hacia un partido político.
La Junta de Supervisores se pondrá en contacto con los medios de comunicación locales para dar a conocer el proceso de redistribución de distritos. Además, haremos un esfuerzo de buena fe para notificar a los diversos grupos de la comunidad sobre el proceso de redistribución de distritos.
Las audiencias públicas se proporcionarán en los idiomas correspondientes si los residentes envían una solicitud por correo electrónico con anticipación al personal del condado de Lake.
La Junta de Supervisores notificará al público sobre las Audiencias Públicas de Redistribución de Distritos, publicara mapas en línea antes de la adopción y mantendrá una página web dedicada para toda la información sobre el proceso de Redistribución de Distritos.
La Junta de Supervisores llevará a cabo Audiencias Públicas del Condado de Lake en 255 N Forbes Street, Lakeport, CA 95453 para recibir comentarios del público sobre dónde trazar las líneas de los distritos.
La participación en persona se facilitara en la mayor medida posible, teniendo en cuenta las precauciones de COVID-19 y la participación electrónica estará disponible atreves de Zoom (accesible por teléfono fijo o móvil y/o cualquier dispositivo de conexión a internet).
¿Solo quieres escuchar? Puede hacerlo en Lake County PEG TV, County of Lake Facebook y County of Lake YouTube.
También puede enviar comentarios públicos, incluidos mapas sugeridos, por correo electrónico al personal del condado de Lake.
A. The California Constitution defines a community of interest as:
A community of interest is a contiguous population which shares common social and economic interests that should be included within a single district for purposes of its effective and fair representation. Examples of such shared interests are those common to an urban area, a rural area, an industrial area, or an agricultural area, and those common to areas in which the people share similar living standards, use the same transportation facilities, have similar work opportunities, or have access to the same media of communication relevant to the election process. Communities of interest shall not include relationships with political parties, incumbents, or political candidates.
Section 2(d)(4) of Article XXI of the California Constitution
Where Supervisorial District boundaries must be adjusted due to population changes, an effort is made to ensure designated Communities of Interest remain within a single Supervisorial District, where possible, to allow for the most effective representation.
Based on the above, the following adjustments would seem most probable:
Members of the public are invited to visit the County's Redistricting page for more information on the broader process.
Any feedback, questions comments, and input on this process can be emailed to Lake County staff.
A GIS tool is available for those interested in mapping their Communities of Interest.
Instructions are provided when the map is launched, and Help is available using the "question mark" icon at the upper right.
To draw boundaries of a Community of Interest using our GIS map:
Alternatively, residents can use the GIS tool to locate the area of their Community of Interest and print their map, and then draw the boundaries with an ink pen, for example, and scan and email or mail their map to the above address.
Every ten years, districts must be redrawn so that each district is substantially equal in population. This process, called redistricting, is important in ensuring each board member represents about the same number of constituents. In Lake County, the Board of Supervisors is responsible for drawing Supervisorial Districts. Redistricting is done using U.S. Census data, which is typically released around March 31, 2021. For the County of Lake, the Redistricting process must be completed by December 15, 2021.
Redistricting determines which neighborhoods and communities are grouped together into a District for the purpose of electing a Board Member. The Board of Supervisors will seek your input in selecting the next district map for our Supervisorial Districts. You have an opportunity to share with the Board of Supervisors how you think District boundaries should be drawn to best represent your community. You can email Lake County staff to find out more about how the process works.
View a map of Lake County's current Supervisorial Districts.
To the extent possible, District lines will be adopted using the following criteria:
Boundaries will not be drawn for purposes of favoring or discriminating against a political party.
The Board of Supervisors will reach out to local media (LakeCoNews and the Record-Bee) to publicize the Redistricting process. We will also make a good faith effort to notify community groups of various kinds about the Redistricting process.
Public Hearings will be provided in applicable languages if residents email a request in advance to Lake County staff.
The Board of Supervisors will notify the public about Redistricting Public Hearings, post maps online before adoption, and maintain this dedicated web page for all relevant information about the Redistricting process.
The Board of Supervisors will be holding Public Hearings at the Lake County Courthouse (255 N Forbes Street, Lakeport, CA 95453 in the Board Chambers) to receive Public Input on where District lines should be drawn.
In-person participation will be facilitated to the maximum extent practical, considering COVID-19 precautions, and electronic participation will be available via Zoom (accessible by landline or mobile phone and/or any internet-connective device).
Just want to listen? You can, on Lake County PEG TV, County of Lake Facebook, and County of Lake YouTube!
The final statutory deadline for the Redistricting process to be complete is on December 15, 2021. The County of Lake intends to culminate our process on November 30th, with the adoption of the final map.
The Order/Notice to Withhold requires you to:
If the notice was sent to you by the Lake County Department of Child Support Services (LCDCSS), send payments to:California State Disbursement UnitP.O. Box 989067West Sacramento, CA 95798-9067
Please call our office at 866-901-3212 to resolve mistaken identity cases. Your employee can also use the Request for Hearing form to file a motion with the court to quash the wage assignment.
Yes. You may combine support withholdings for each county into one check. You must include an itemized accounting providing names, social security numbers (or other identifying numbers such as the Participant ID), the amount attributable to each employee, and the withholding date(s).
If 50% of the employee’s net disposable earnings will not pay in full all of the assignments for support, priority should be given to the current child support obligations, followed by (in order):
Apply monies in the above order according to the proportion that each assignment bears to the total owed in each category.
Federal and state laws give child support withholding priority over all other income attachments.
Deductions must continue until further order of the court or notification by the Local Child Support Agency. Employers can be held in contempt for terminating an Order/Notice without authorization from the court or the Local Child Support Agency.
Please notify the Local Child Support Agency immediately by sending in the Notice of Termination or Employee Status Report. If it is a short seasonal or weather-related layoff, please call the Local Child Support Agency; the Order/Notice should be reactivated upon the employee’s return to work.
At this time, Lake County Department of Child Support Services is unable to accept EFTs.
If the returning employee is required to complete a new W-4 form, then you must submit a New Hire report.
A copy of the National Medical Support Notice (NMSN) must be given to your employee 10 days after receipt. If health insurance for dependents is available, you must enroll the employee’s dependent(s) named on the order within 30 days.
The cost of health insurance is in addition to the child support ordered. The total amount that may be withheld is subject to the 50% limitation; if child support and health insurance will total more than 50% of the employee’s net disposable earnings, please contact The Lake County Division of Child Support Services immediately.
Complete, sign, and return the Employer’s Response provided in the National Medical Support Notice packet.
You may enroll the child(ren) in the same health plan as the employee if that plan provides coverage in the dependents’ county of residence.
The children should be enrolled in any plan that will reasonably provide coverage where they live unless the court has ordered coverage by a specific plan.
No. You must enroll the dependents within 30 days of receiving the National Medical Support Notice.
It is your responsibility to notify the Lake County Division of Child Support Services of any lapses in coverage. Contact the Lake County Division of Child Support Services.
To make a code violation complaint regarding suspected building, zoning, grading, and cannabis issues within unincorporated Lake County, please use our online complaint form.
Lake County Code Enforcement does not do code enforcement in the City of Clearlake or the City of Lakeport. You would need to contact those agencies directly.
We do not require you to put your name or contact information on the code complaint form. However, if our officers cannot find the violation and have no contact information, we will list the complaint as invalid and close the complaint.
We receive complaints from a number of sources including staff, outside agencies, and the general public. Of those complaints received from the general public, we do not require the complainant to supply their name or contact information.
Lake County holds its property owners responsible for their properties. If something was caused by a tenant, contractor, or neighbor, this would be a civil matter between you and the person who caused the problem. If the problem was caused by an illegal act you would need to contact Law Enforcement. It is still up to the property owner to do the corrections such as obtain a permit, clean the property, remove inoperative vehicles or get a demo permit to remove unpermitted buildings.
Permit fees are based on the complexity of the project. Staff will assist you in determining your cost. You may call the Building Division at 707-263-2382.
If you suspect there is a code violation on another property, you may contact Code Enforcement staff and submit a complaint form. A Code Enforcement Officer will investigate the matter. If a violation is found to exist, the owner will be contacted and required to remove the violation and/or obtain the necessary permits for the violation.
The type of violation will determine the timeframe for correction. The posted/mailed notice will contain the deadline for completion.
You can appeal any determination of violation. Your appeal right is included in each notice sent and specifies how long you have to submit an appeal. Appeals of some determinations require a fee. If you do not appeal within the specified timeframe, you waive your right for future appeals on the same violation.
Code Enforcement operates under Chapter 13 of the Lake County Code and enforces the Lake County Zoning Ordinance.
You can go to the Lake County Geographic Information System (GIS) website to find out the zoning of your parcel.
From there, select the Lake County Parcel Viewer. You can find your parcel number from your deed or tax bill.
Then look up the corresponding zoning information in the Zoning Ordinance.
You can also call the Planning Division at 707-263-2221.
Please refer to Article 27, Section (a) (PDF) of the Lake County Zoning Ordinance for the overall requirements for obtaining a Commercial Cannabis Cultivation license.
No, it is not required as part of the process.
Information on cannabis cultivation is found in Article 27 (PDF) of the Lake County Zoning Ordinance. Prior to submitting an application for Commercial Cannabis Cultivation, it would be beneficial for you to set up a Pre-Application meeting with a Planner at the Community Development Department.
Please note that fees are subject to change.
The process can take up to 24 months. Times may vary as each project is different
Cultivation cannot occur until all State licenses have been obtained.
Only after obtaining the required County permit and state licenses.
Hemp is monitored by the Lake County Department of Agriculture upon issuance of a zoning permit through the Lake County Community Development Department.
Cannabis is monitored by County and State agencies, and requires either a Major Use Permit or a Minor Use Permit from the County, depending on the project/license type.
First, please contact and coordinate with the Lake County Department of Agriculture.
Second, obtain the necessary permits from the Lake County Community Development Department.
Please contact the Planner on Duty as fees are subject to change.
To find the status of your submitted application, please contact the planner processing your application.
You will need a permit under the following circumstances:
If your driveway is going to be constructed on a non-county maintained road.
A permit is not required to replace a modular/mobile home, dwelling, or other structure which has been destroyed by fire unless the floor area of the replacement modular/mobile home, or dwelling structure exceeds the original by more than 500 square feet.
Applications and instructions may be obtained from the Public Works Department, located at:Lake County Superior Courthouse255 North Forbes StreetRoom 309 (Third Floor)Lakeport, CA 95453
The process is as follows:
The encroachment permit fee is currently $350, which covers the preliminary inspection and two additional required inspections.
Reinspections or additional inspections are charged at one-third of the Permit Fee. The additional fee must be paid prior to requesting reinspection.
Per resolutions 2005-186 and 2005-187, No work within the County right-of-way can be done until an Encroachment Permit has been issued. A penalty fee of 100% of the amount of the permit fee will be enforced for violators.
The owner or builder must provide the Department of Public Works with a minimum of a 48-hour notice to schedule an inspection. Contact the Public Works Department at 707-263-2341 or at 707-994-4824. Inspections are scheduled for either a Tuesday, Wednesday, or Thursday depending on when the request is received.
An inspection is required immediately prior to the asphalt paving or concrete pouring.
A final inspection will be required after the driveway has been completed.
If the inspector determines that the first 20 feet of the driveway complies with the County Standards, Public Works will sign off on the Building Department Inspection Record Card. Sign off by the Department is one of the conditions necessary to allow occupancy.
Molds are simple microscopic organisms. Almost any natural material will support a population of molds. They are found on plants, foods, dry leaves, and other organic matter. Molds have an important role in breaking down organic material. Molds are essential to what biologists call nutrient cycling. Nutrient cycling is the process where nutrients get used again and again by living organisms.
Molds commonly release spores into the air that can cause allergic reactions. For some people, a relatively small number of spores can cause illness. However, for other people, a larger number of spores must be present to cause illness. The common symptoms can include wheezing, burning eyes, dry cough, nose and eye irritation, sore throat, or skin rashes.
Many molds produce toxins that the mold uses to prevent the growth of other organisms. These toxins may suppress the immune system, cause skin rashes, eye and nose irritation, fever, and in infants rare cases of bleeding in the lungs. Please consult your physician if you believe your health has been impacted by molds. Physicians who have occupational health, public health, or an allergist specialty may have knowledge about this syndrome.
The mold described on TV is a mold named Stachybotrys Chartarum (atra) or simply S. atra. It is suspected that S. atra causes a disorder in infants that results in bleeding in the lungs, however, this condition is rare. This mold may cause skin rashes, eye and nose irritation, and suppression of the immune system.
S. atra is black, shiny, and slimy. This mold is most commonly found on straw, hay, and livestock feed. This mold only grows on high cellulose, low-nitrogen materials like wood, paper, cardboard, and building materials like sheetrock that have gotten wet. In buildings, this mold lives in environments of high humidity and ongoing water damage. This mold may be present in homes that flooded or had plumbing, roof, or sewer leaks. S. atra is not common in homes. It is not the common mold found on shower tiles or along window seals. However, any molds found in large populations in buildings and homes may cause health problems to some people.
The common molds found in buildings are the mold groups Aspergillus, Penicillium, and Cladosporium.
Mold is found in virtually all buildings. Many molds come from outside sources. Molds can be tolerant of dry conditions but they all need a source of moisture to grow. Homes and other buildings with mold growth have a moisture problem. The following are some indoor moisture sources that can cause problems:
In buildings, S. atra lives in water-soaked wood, wall paneling, sheetrock, newspaper, and cardboard boxes. This mold only lives in buildings with high humidity and continual water damage.
Accurate mold sampling can be expensive and requires special equipment. Generally, the State Health Services does not recommend initial testing of molds. If the testing of molds is necessary, please refer to the sections of your yellow pages entitled "Environmental Consultants" and "Industrial Hygiene Consultants". Ask if the company is knowledgeable in mold testing. The County of Lake recommends getting bids. The consultant will collect the samples according to the procedures detailed in the American Industrial Hygiene Association publication "Field Guide for the Determination of Biological Contaminants in Environmental Samples".
Never mix bleach with ammonia - the vapors are toxic!
Caution: Bleach vapors can irritate the eyes, nose, and throat. Always make sure the working area is well-ventilated. Wear gloves when using disinfectants like bleach.
Please be advised that for large areas of mold (greater than ten square feet), you may want to hire a mold remediation specialist.
Yes, cleaning up mold may release mold spores. The mold spore counts in buildings during cleaning may be up to 1000 times that of background levels. To protect yourself, consider using a respirator to protect yourself from breathing mold spores. Use disposable clothing or clothing that is easily cleanable following the project. Wear rubber gloves. Initially, only clean a small area, and if you begin to have symptoms stop and hire a mold remediation specialist. Move air through the building during and after completing the work. Do not use a gasoline pressure washer indoors because you may expose yourself to carbon monoxide.
Please look in your local telephone directory for the following categories of firms:
You should contact at least three firms before choosing one to do the work. Before selecting a firm, obtain information on the firm and the services that they perform. Ask for references, including clients that have to use the firm for similar services. Describe your problem and ask them if they can diagnose this type of problem. You should ask the firm how long they have done this type of work and the type of training their employees received. Ask the firm how they prevent the spread of contamination and if they sell air cleaners or air duct cleaning services as part of their business. Check the Better Business Bureau, the California Consumer Fraud Department, and the California Contractor Licensing Board for complaints against the firm. Beware of any firm that says they are U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), U.S. Department of Labor - Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), or state licensed to remove and treat mold in buildings and homes. These agencies do not license this service.
Yes, the ductwork can become contaminated with mold. If the duct system is constructed of bare metal or metal with an exterior coating of fiberglass it can be cleaned and replaced. However, fiberglass ductwork or metal ductwork with an interior coating of fiberglass cannot be cleaned and must be removed and discarded. You should hire a contractor to do this project.
The National Association of County and City Health Officials define environmental health as the discipline that "focuses on the health interrelationships between people and their environment, promotes human health and well-being, and fosters a safe and healthful environment".
The Lake County Division of Environmental Health is comprised of a team of dedicated public health professionals that are focused on their mission to promote and protect the health of the people of Lake County through education and the enforcement of public health laws. Disease control and prevention are at the heart of this mission. This is done through the administration and implementation of several local public health programs such as:
The mandate and authority to implement these programs come from Chapter 9 of the Lake County Code and from the State Health and Safety Code.
The Division is funded by a combination of funding sources. Currently, Environmental Health does not receive any money from the county general fund. Approximately 55 % of funds are collected from fees charged to regulated businesses and from permit services. Approximately 35% of funds come from public health realignment funds that come to local government from the State Vehicle License Fund. Approximately 10% of funds come from special grant projects.
Apply for a Site Evaluation and pay the required fee. Prepare the site for the evaluation by providing two profile holes measuring 2 feet wide 4 feet long with a slant and 5 feet deep in the area where you will install the initial and expansion septic systems. Be sure to secure the holes if they are going to be left open for any length of time. After the site is evaluated you will receive a written site evaluation report. Be sure to cover the profile holes. The time it takes between the time you apply and the time you receive a report varies depending on many factors including weather, time of year, building activity, etc. The time has varied from 2 weeks to up to 6 weeks.
An on-site field inspection is required when the inspector has to go out in the field to verify where the septic system is located. This may be required depending upon what information is contained in the file. There are instances where the file is incomplete or incorrect. The inspection is conducted to ensure that the proposed project will not damage the existing septic system or replacement area. No on-site field inspection is required when there is adequate information in the file.
Answer goes here...
Screening is required for all registered water vessels, meaning any trailered watercraft, or jet ski, or float plane capable of being launched into a water body within the County of Lake.
Screening is not required for:
If you have launched your boat in a body of water outside Lake County, re-screening is required. If you have any questions, please visit a screening location, and a screener will be happy to review your boating history to determine whether your vessel poses a threat. You will not pay a fee for a re-screening, but will pay a fee for an inspection if required.
Violation of this law is a misdemeanor, and carries a minimum $1,000 fine. Penalty could include boat confiscation and even a possible jail term.
Call the Lake County Sheriff's Dispatch at 707-263-2690. If possible, please note the boat's vessel registration number (CF#) and/or vessel description.
View our Screening and Inspection page to find fee information.
Resident Mussel Stickers are valid for the calendar year issued.
Visitor Mussel Stickers are valid for the calendar month issued.
Probably not, but this will be determined through the screening process.
Resident Water Vessel means:
As part of the screening process, you will need to show your Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) registration. See our Resident Vessels page for more information.
Note: A Water Vessel is any trailered watercraft, or jet ski, or float plane capable of being launched into a water body within the County of Lake. The term vessel does not apply to:
Visit the Screening and Inspection page for more information on the screening process and fees.
Not at this time. However, many local businesses offer expanded hours for those who want to launch early in the morning or late in the evening. In addition, staff members at many local lodging establishments are able to offer screening assistance to their guests upon check-in, so be sure to inquire when making a reservation.
Visit the Screening Locations page for list of screening locations.
It varies depending on how the boat has been operated in the past 30 days, and how diligent the owner/operator was in cleaning, draining, and drying when exiting the previous water body. Owners/operators can streamline the process by saving receipts or certificates documenting any recent cleanings/and or inspections.
This depends on various risk factors, but all parts of the boat must be cleaned, drained, and dry. This includes live wells, bait wells, bilges, and areas likely to contain water. If the boat is determined to be a higher-risk vessel, a thorough boat and trailer inspection by an authorized inspector may be necessary.
The bilges, live wells, bait wells, and any other areas that collect water must be cleaned, drained, and dry. The screener will ask the vessel owner/operator to verify this.
The screener will make a determination on the extent of decontamination needed for the boat to pass inspection. Details will be provided as to where and when to take the vessel for the physical inspection and any additional fees. Currently there is one decontamination unit in Lake County owned and operated by the Department of Water Resources.
The decontamination process includes power washing with very hot water, flushing of the motor cooling system, draining, and drying of any standing water including bilges, ballasts, and bait wells, etc. Hard to treat equipment that cannot be exposed to hot water can be treated with 100% vinegar for 20 minutes or 1% table salt for 24 hours.
The zebra mussel and its close cousin, the quagga mussel, have become the most serious non-native biofouling pests to be introduced into North American fresh waters. An infestation adversely affects the ecosystem and anyone who uses the lakes by causing mussel colonies to form on all surfaces including:
The most serious measurable economic impacts are suffered by water districts and other users of lake water who may have increased maintenance costs due to plugged water pipes, intake screens, and possible damage to pumps and other equipment. It even impacts citizens who don't use the lakes through increased costs for drinking water and food prices passed along to consumers by the water and agriculture industries brought on by their increased costs in maintenance and equipment repair. It impacts the local fisheries, and in some lakes, has caused a collapse in the populations of sport fish.
These mussels have the ability to tolerate a wide range of conditions and are extremely adaptable. Once they have infected a water body, they cannot be eradicated. They have no predators native to the U.S. They cannot be prevented from spreading into downstream waters.
These invasive mussels were introduced into the United States in 1988 in Lake St. Clair near Detroit, Michigan. The mussels are believed to have been released into the Great Lakes Region from the emptying of ballast water from a Eurasian vessel. So although they have been in the United States for 20 years, the zebra and quagga mussels are new to California. The quagga mussel was first discovered in Lake Mead in January 2007, and quickly spread downstream into Lake Havasu, Lake Mohave, and then into Southern California via the aqueduct system. The zebra mussel was first discovered in San Justo Reservoir, San Benito County in January 2008. Since so many boaters come to Lake County from southern California, the Lake County Board of Supervisors approved an ordinance to protect the water bodies of Lake County from this significant and imminent threat posed by invasive quagga and zebra mussel infestation that can be spread inadvertently through recreational boating.
Yes, as of January 1, 2020, Quagga mussels have been found in 42 locations in California and Zebra mussels in 1 lake. Some of them have been closed to boating traffic.
The Lake County Library Advisory Board is a group of five Lake County Residents, one from each supervisorial district.
Selected by the Board of Supervisors for two-year terms, their task is to assure accountability of, and advocacy for, the Lake County Library system.
To access our online catalog or digital resources you will often be asked for your PIN. Your PIN is usually the last four digits of the phone number on your library card registration unless you changed it or set it yourself when applying for an online library card. If you don't know your PIN you can call or email the library to get a new PIN.
Report it to the library immediately. We will declare it lost and issue you a new one. Replacement cards are free and we will check your identification.
When you have a library card, you agree to the rules of the library including promptly paying all charges for lost, damaged, or overdue library materials; and giving notice of any change of address. You are responsible for any item checked out on your card. Please have your card with you when you call or visit the library. If you have any other questions, contact one of our branches: Lakeport, Redbud (Clearlake), Middletown, or Upper Lake.
You can call your local branch or submit a library card application online and staff can create a card for you over the phone to use online. You can then pick up your physical card by showing your ID at the branch location.
Everyone! We have programs for Pre-K, Kids, Teens, and Adults. Even if your child is too young to read on their own you can sign up and read with them!
Once sign-ups start, you can register on our special Summer Reading website and any time after. Just head to the website and create an account for yourself and your family, register for the program that's right for you, and let the fun begin!
When you sign up, you can start reading library books and logging your reading online to get points. As you get more points, you unlock digital badges, games, and activities. At 1,000 points you complete the reading log and the Friends of the Library will donate a book to the library. The book will have your name inside commemorating your achievement!
We have four programs based on age: Pre-K, Kids, Teens, and Adults. No matter which program you choose, you will log reading for points. The only difference is the prizes you might win, recommended reading lists, and the activities and games available online.
Yes. If you don't yet have an email address they are free. Please visit the website Online Tech Tips on how to get a free email account.
Yes. If you are a child and you don't have a library card but someone in your family checks books out for you, you can use their card. For adults, if you don't have a card, it's easy to get one. Please visit the Library Cards page for more information.
You get points by logging your reading. On the website or app click 'log reading' or the pencil icon to log either books or pages. Library staff can log your reading for you if you need help.
It's up to you! When you log books, each book is worth 40 points. When you log pages, each page read is worth 1 point.
Yes! To figure out how many pages these types of books have look up a physical copy of the book on the library catalog to find the number of pages to log for an ebook or audiobook. Just search for the title of the book, click view details on the entry in the list with the format of the book, and the number of pages will be listed in the physical description. Library staff can assist if you need help.
Yes! Children who can't quite read on their own yet can still sign up and you can record the books that you read together.
Reading is its own reward, but we also offer prizes to make the program more fun.
For all those who finish the program by earning 1,000 points a book with a commemorative bookplate is donated in their name to the library, along with a Summer Reading book tote. They get to pick the book, sign their name, and be the first person to check it out!
All the prizes for the Summer Reading Program are provided by the non-profit Friends of the Lake County Library.
Mission are fun activities that award a digital badge if you complete them. It's a rumor that missions might help you win prizes!
Participating helps encourage habits that make reading a lifelong habit. Reading over the summer helps children keep their skills up and generates interest in books and literacy. And it's fun!
Be sure to contact the library either online or over the phone, and we'll be happy to answer any questions you might have!
Everyone! Babies, toddlers, children, teens, and adults. If your child hasn't quite started reading by themselves yet, you can still sign them up and read with them.
Once sign-ups start you can register on our special Winter Reading Challenge website and any time after. Just head to the website, create an account for yourself and your family, register for the program that's right for you, and let the fun begin! You can also sign up at your local branch.
When you sign up, you can start reading library books and logging your reading online to get points. As you get more points, you unlock digital badges, games, and activities. At 1,000 points you complete the reading log and the Friends of the Library will donate a book to the library in your honor. You get to be the first person to check the book out and can sign your name inside!
We have four programs based on age: Pre-K, Kids, Teens, and Adults. No matter which program you choose, you will log reading for points. Pre-K and Kids get stickers and toys for reaching milestones. The only other difference is the recommended reading lists and the activities available online.
It's up to you! When you log books, each book is worth 50 points. When you log pages, each page read is worth 1 point.
Reading is its own reward, but we also offer prizes to make the program more fun.
Be sure to contact the library either online, over the phone, or by visiting your local branch.
If the item belongs to Lake County:
Items that belong to Sonoma County Library or Mendocino County Library may have different due dates.
Please verify your due dates on your check-out receipt or by logging into your library account on the Library Catalog.
Contact a library if you have any questions or problems with your account.
Each item can be renewed three times if no one else has requested the item.
The renewal period on each item is the same as its checkout period. For example, a three-week item will have a new due date three weeks from the renewal date.
Coursera is the global online learning platform that offers anyone, anywhere access to online courses and degrees from world-class universities and companies.
Coursera partners with more than 200 leading universities and companies to bring flexible, affordable, job-relevant online learning to individuals and organizations worldwide. Coursera offers a range of learning opportunities-from hands-on projects and courses to job-ready certificates and degree programs.
GetSetUp is on a mission to help the third of the world's population who are over 55 to learn new skills, connect with others and unlock new life experiences. Older adults have incredible knowledge to share and new mountains (literally and figuratively) to climb, but until now they haven't had their own place to pursue their passions and continue creating, growing, and giving back.
Access the GetSetUp website to register your free account. For any paid classes - you can use the coupon code CSL-Lake to waive all fees.
You may use an email address and mobile phone number to sign up for GetSetUp. If you don't have an email address you may be able to sign up for one for free from any of the following providers:
If you need more help getting started or don't have a mobile phone number, GetSetUp can help over the phone via a Toll-Free Number available on the GetSetUp homepage.
GetSetUp has online classes that are designed to appeal to older adults. You can choose from hundreds of live classes taught by peers who are experts in their field. There are classes in many categories including: Aging in Place, Art, Business, Creativity, Technology, Health, and More. Just want to socialize? There are also social hours built around specific interests as well.
You can sign up for a new member info session or read Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) by clicking the Help link on the GetSetUp website. If you need help booking a class, you can also e-mail or call GetSetUp and they'll get you started.
Northstar defines basic skills needed to perform tasks on computers and online. Northstar was developed in response to the needs of job seekers who may lack the digital literacy skills needed to seek, obtain, and retain employment, as well as to perform other tasks in daily life. Northstar allows everyone to freely take the assessments from anywhere. Northstar also includes learning resources to support adult learners to master digital literacy. Learning resources include a classroom curriculum that can be used in person or remotely, and Northstar Online Learning, which provides self-directed instruction and practice for individuals.
Once you access the Northstar Digital Literacy website, you will be directed to give your name to start learning. You can click sign up as a learner to sign up with your email address if you want to track your progress.
If you don't have an email address you may be able to sign up for one for free from any of the following providers:
Northstar has online assessments in three main categories: Essential Computer Skills (Basic Computer Skills, Internet Basics, Using Email, Windows, Mac OS), Essential Software Skills (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Google Docs), and Using Technology in Daily Life (Social Media, Information Literacy, Supporting K-12 Distance Learning, Career Search Skills, and Digital Footprint). Closed-captioning is available and screen readers are supported.
You can start an assessment at any time to start showing what you know and learn where you might need additional help. Self-paced online learning helps you increase your computer know-how.
Library staff will be happy to help you get started with Northstar. Just visit or call your local branch.
The Lake County Adult Literacy program matches adults with a one-on-one volunteer tutor and can help you increase all kinds of literacy skills. Sign up by calling or visiting your local branch. For more information, visit the Literacy Program page.
Lake County Library does not offer proctored tests at the time. You can still take assessments and use online learning resources to increase your skills.
Skillshare is an online learning community with thousands of inspiring classes for creative and curious people.
To get access to Skillshare through California State Library, visit the Skillshare website from the link on the Lake County Library website. Then, you will be directed to set up your free account. You will have access to Skillshare for 3 months.
You will need an email address to sign up for Skillshare. If you don't have an email address you may be able to sign up for one for free from any of the following providers:
As a Skillshare member, you'll have access to thousands of online classes that you can watch on your own time, at your own pace. Each class has short lessons and a hands-on project for you to work on and put your new skills into action.
Skillshare offers thousands of classes in 4 main categories: Creative, Business, Technology, and Lifestyle. You will find classes recommended for you on your Home page and can adjust the Skills you Follow to improve your recommendations.
You can find Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) and information to get started in the Skillshare Help Center. If you're looking for additional help, you can contact the Skillshare Support team by submitting a ticket.
The California State Library has worked with Skillshare to create learning paths just for library patrons. Learn more information about the partnership between Skillshare and the California State Library.
Once your Skillshare Membership from California State Library ends, you can choose to extend your membership on your own and remain a Skillshare member. Otherwise, once your membership ends, you will be able to log in to your account, but you will no longer be able to take classes.
You can sign up over the phone by calling your library branch, or completing an online form in the Apply section and a library staff member will contact you for a brief orientation to the program.
When you sign up for Books by Mail you are self-certifying that you are unable to visit the library due to illness or disability. Once you have signed up for Books by Mail you will receive all library items via the mail. Visiting the library to check out items in person will revoke your participation in the Books by Mail program.
Once you are signed up as a Books by Mail Library patron, any book, DVD, Book on CD, or CD you request will be sent to your home in a Library Canvas Mailbag through the U.S. Postal Service. You are only limited by what can fit in this bag, although some items, such as oversized books won't be able to be delivered through Books by Mail. Once the items are mailed to your home you have 28 days to enjoy and then return them.
Just like items checked out in the library, your items are able to be renewed if no one else is requesting them. However, you'll need to return all your items together - if you received five items you can't just keep only one.
You can request items by calling your local library and requesting items over the phone. You can also visit our online catalog and request items yourself. Library staff will not automatically choose items for you but are happy to offer recommendations over the phone.
Once your items are ready, Library staff will consolidate your requests so they can fit the most possible in each library mailbag. You will receive an automated notification that your holds are ready for pickup, which means library staff will be mailing your items shortly and you should watch for them in the mail.
Each library mailbag will also have a return label. Keep the bag and mailing label in a safe place until it's time to return your item. Once you are ready or the items are due, simply place the return label in the window on the library mailbag and put them in your mailbox for the postal service to pick up.
You must return all your items together in the same bag they came in. The postage is paid for by weight so it's important that you keep the items together when returning them through the mail.
Once your items are returned new items can be mailed.
We train volunteer tutors in methods of reading instruction to assist their students. Literacy Program staff match tutors and students. No teaching experience is necessary. Training, ongoing support, and materials provided. Flexible volunteering opportunities.
We provide free, basic literacy instruction to adult learners through confidential one-to-one study sessions that are geared to what the student wants to learn.
All you need is to have a desire to improve your reading and/or writing skills. Learners must be at least 16 years old and out of the traditional high school environment.
You must have a good command of written English and a willingness to help others improve their skills.
Property usage permits are required when any organized or planned event taking place on county property is sponsored by a publicly recognized organization (profit or non-profit), person, business or other entity which invites, advertises or seeks entrants in excess of 25 participants.
As a general rule a permit is not required when family groups (weddings, reunions, including school reunions) and other similar groups, not associated with an established organization, hold an event where there are less than 100 participants. Contact Public Services at 707-262-1618 to determine if your planned event qualifies.
A group of citizens can form a Homeowners Association, a Road Maintenance Association, a County Service Area (CSA) Zone of Benefit, or a Permanent Road Division. To form a Homeowners or Road Maintenance Association, an attorney familiar with laws governing such organizations should be consulted.
To establish a Permanent Road Division or a CSA Zone of Benefit, residents should contact the Lake County Department of Public Works who can provide information on the programs, a Formation Application, and a copy of the program Policy and Procedures Guidelines.
A permanent road division is a geographic area formed pursuant to California Streets and Highways Code, Section 1160, to provide road improvements and road maintenance.
If you live on a road not maintained by the County Department of Public Works or some other agency, a petition can be submitted to form a permanent road division to provide the extended service of road improvement and maintenance. Contact the Public Works Department for more information.
A $350 application fee is required. This deposit will be used to defray the initial costs associated with division formation. Formation charges exceeding the initial $350 deposit can be recovered from the division's first-year assessment. There may be additional costs incurred in order to meet formation requirements, such as charges by an engineer to prepare a map or legal description. These charges are paid directly to the service provider. The division must also pay a fee to the California State Board of Equalization, based on their fee schedule.
Once established, a division will be charged annually as follows:
While there is no "average" division, annual division administration fees usually range from $1,000 to $5,000 per division per year.
Any and all road work is paid from each respective division's account. Road work within a division is governed by the County's Informal Bidding Procedure Ordinance and Public Works contract law. Licensing, bonding, and compliance with prevailing wage standards are required.
If a two-thirds majority of the property owners are willing to sign irrevocable offers of dedication and those controlling the easements are obtained, the formation can proceed. Noticed public hearings are held by the Board of Supervisors where protests can be heard. If the division formation is approved despite the protests of an individual parcel owner, that owner will be taxed along with all other parcel owners in the division.
There is one type of fee that can be levied in the permanent road division program, a special tax.
A special tax requires a two-thirds majority approval of the registered voters voting within the division boundaries. A special tax can be
Any proposed increase exceeding the approved maximum amount would require a two-thirds majority approval in another election.
As part of formation, the members of the division elect an Advisory Committee and identify a Key Contact to act as liaison to the County. Once appointed by the Board, members of this committee serve in an advisory capacity and, as such, are subject to the provisions of the Brown Act.
The Advisory Committee consists of an odd number of benefiting property owners, usually 3 or 5, depending upon the size of the division. Once the division is formed, the Department of Public Works will solicit volunteers or nominees to serve on the Advisory Committee. If there are an even number of names submitted, an election will be held. For the first election, one ballot will be sent to each individual landowner within the boundaries of the division. All ballots received by the County within a specified time limit will be tallied. The specified number of persons (usually 3 or 5) receiving the greatest amount of votes will serve. If there are only 3 or 5 names submitted, there will be no election and these three or five will serve on the Advisory Committee. All elections after the first election will not be set up by County staff, but, by the membership of the division with the assistance of the Advisory Committee. The bylaws will set forth the terms of office.
The Engineering Division of the Public Works will perform annual safety inspections and give recommendations for correcting any hazards that may exist and the respective costs for said recommendations.
The Advisory Committee is required to meet at least four times each year. All meetings are open to the public and must be noticed accordingly. The committee develops a recommended budget, including specific projects to be completed and the amount of the tax to be charged to each property within the division. All members of the division have the right to speak and vote on these issues.
Public Works staff presents the division's proposed budgets to the Board for approval annually. Any division member may appear before the Board to speak on the proposed tax and budget. If an increase above the approved maximum special tax is proposed, it would be subject to the approval process described above.
Once approved by the Board and any required registered voter election, the tax is added to the property tax bill for each parcel. The funds are collected with the property taxes and deposited into an interest-bearing account for the use of the division. All funds are administered by the Administration Division of Public Works. Monies are not placed in the General Fund and cannot be used for other purposes.
Each division will have its own bylaws.
The Department of Public Works will send a sample set of bylaws to a member of the Advisory Committee shortly after the creation of an Advisory committee. The Advisory Committee will review the sample set, make any changes deemed necessary, and return a copy with the changes to the Department of Public Works.
A finalized set of bylaws will be made up with the recommended changes and a copy forwarded to the Advisory Committee for general membership approval. The finalized set will be brought before the Board of Supervisors for approval. Any property owner may appear before the Board of Supervisors to discuss any aspect of the recommended bylaws.
Upon Board approval, the bylaws become effective.
All mailings will be made through the Administration Division of the Department of Public Works. All costs for the mailings will be charged directly to the division.
At this time there are no standards established for division roads, although compliance with Fire Safety Regulations is recommended. The members of the division determine the level of improvements and/or maintenance for roads within their division, subject to the approval of the Board of Supervisors.
All monies received from the division:
Any funds budgeted but not used within the fiscal year are carried over into the division's account for the next year. If budgeted projects are not completed, the funds will be available for the division's use in the next year.
Division funds cannot be used for any other purpose other than work in the division and costs associated with the operation and administration of the division. An exception would be if a division were to dissolve with a balance remaining in its account. In that case, the excess funds at the time of dissolution would revert to the County General Fund.
Road Associations shall not levy assessments once the division has been formed, and the County is still assessing properties within the division.
Back assessments collected by the Homeowners Association for road maintenance purposes are to be transferred to the affected formed permanent road division.
One requirement of formation is that offers of dedication or easements be granted to the County. Once completed, this action establishes the road as a public road covered by the conditions and stipulations of the California Vehicle Code (CVC).
The California Vehicle Code states that travel on all public roads shall be at a prudent speed that in no way endangers property or life. The California Highway Patrol is responsible for public roads and will respond to calls on division roads.
The permanent road divisions are required to contribute to the purchase of a liability insurance policy covering all division roads.
A permanent road division can be dissolved by the initiation of the Board of Supervisors or by the initiation of the property owners or residents. A petition signed by 51% of the registered voters in the division is required to initiate a dissolution.
If the formation of a division was a condition of approval on a final map, a waiver of that condition must be obtained from the Planning Department before dissolution can proceed.
A filing fee of $200 is required to initiate the dissolution process. The actual costs to the County, including any fees charged by the State Board of Equalization, will be taken from the initial payment. Any costs over $200 must be paid by the division before the dissolution will be recorded and may result in additional charges to the division.
Any funds held in a division account at the time of dissolution will be used for expenses related to the dissolution. If there are funds remaining once the dissolution is complete, they will revert to the County General Fund.
Since irrevocable offers of dedication exist, the road will remain a public road. The County may choose to accept the road into the County Maintained Mileage System or the County may choose to vacate the road, returning it to private use. The residents may request that the Department of Public Works vacate the roads, however, the road will remain public unless and until the Board of Supervisors takes formal action to vacate the road.
The subdivider of your subdivision could have built the roads to a higher standard and offered the maintenance to the County. But, the subdivider chose to build the roads to a lower standard and have the property owners maintain the road(s). The charges to a permanent road division are a special tax and are not based on the value of your property.
No, the Association would no longer levy charges for road maintenance or provide road maintenance services, so long as the division is providing that service.
No. Under a permanent road division there are no plans or intent to widen, straighten, or level the roads unless provided through an improvement district formed for such purposes.
Roads in Lake County can have a variety of entities responsible. The primary highways, such as Routes 29, 53, 20, 281, and 175 are maintained by the State (Caltrans). Many other primary and secondary roads are maintained by governmental agencies such as the County, United States Forest Service, Bureau of Land Management and several quasi-governmental agencies such as Special Districts.
These roads generally have unrestricted public access, but may be seasonally restricted, such as with a locked gate. However, a greater total mileage of roads are privately maintained. Many of these "private" roads are truly private; there is no dedication of easement for public access. These are often referred to as "private-private" roads. Most, however, have some dedication that allows for access by the general public. They are referred to as "private-public" roads. Both types can be gated, but only the "private-private" roads can have permanently restricted or controlled access, such as with a locked gate.
The California Civil Code requires the cost of maintenance for both types of privately maintained roads to be shared equitably by the landowners benefiting from those roads. Lacking a formal agreement between landowners, the Code requires an equal share contribution from each landowner. This is enforced through civil action, in other words by a neighbor suing a neighbor.
The County maintained road system consists of approximately 610 miles of County roads. The roads within the County system vary greatly in width, alignment and surface. Due to budgetary constraints, the County cannot always perform all of the maintenance that we would like to on roads within the existing County road system. The County road budget comes mainly from State gas tax revenues.
Taking additional miles of road into the system does not increase our revenue commensurate with the cost of maintaining the additional road mileage. If the County were to take additional roads into the system, the maintenance of the existing County roads would have to be scaled back. Therefore, it has been the policy of the County Board of Supervisors not to take additional roads into the County road system, except in certain circumstances.
The least expensive way that privately maintained roads can be kept up is for the property owners served by the road to contribute their fair share to the annual maintenance of the road. This requires voluntary contributions from each road user which, unfortunately, are not always forthcoming.
Sometimes a user of a private road will refuse to pay his or her share of the road maintenance. The other users of the road are then forced to sue the non-paying road user in order to collect a fair share of the road maintenance cost. Private maintenance requires volunteer effort and cooperation and is usually a binding agreement. An agreement that allows establishment of property lien rights for fee collection is important. Usually, a legal entity, such as a non-profit, road maintenance association, involving all affected property owners, is necessary.
You should seek the advice of legal counsel before forming such an entity and for the review of the maintenance agreement.
You can form a County Service Area/Zone of Benefit or a Permanent Road Division.
The County Service Area (CSA) concept enables counties to provide a guaranteed level of services where requested by property owners. Lake County has adopted a "Countywide County Service Area". This allows any neighborhood within the County to establish a "Zone of Benefit" to obtain increased services to that neighborhood. Each of these Zones includes properties benefitted by the service rendered. The laws regulating the creation and operation of County Service Areas were enacted into law by the California State Legislature and are found in the California Government Code.
The level of service is usually one agreed upon by the affected property owners, with input by the Public Works Department staff to assure that a minimum of safety and liability requirements are met.
The level of service is determined by the revenue derived from a benefit assessment or special tax raised within the Zone of Benefit. A benefit assessment requires approval by a majority of at least 51% of the property owners within the Zone of Benefit boundaries and each is counted in proportion to the proposed assessment per parcel. A special tax requires approval by two-thirds of the individuals who are registered to vote within the Zone of Benefit boundaries.
Often, larger up-front costs are required to pay for improvements to bring the road surfaces (which may have declined from years of neglect) up to a maintainable standard, and cover Zone formation costs and interim maintenance costs until the tax role assessments can be collected. The County is currently considering a means to loan these up-front costs to a Zone, with repayment of some of these costs over a number of years at the County's normal interest earnings rate (very reasonable rates compared with conventional financing).
The Permanent Road Division (PRD) concept enables counties to provide a guaranteed level of services where requested by property owners. This allows any neighborhood within the County to establish a "Division" to obtain increased services to that neighborhood. Each of these divisions includes properties directly benefitted by the service rendered. The laws regulating the creation and operation of Permanent Road Divisions were enacted into law by the California State Legislature and are found in the California Streets and Highways Code.
The level of service in a PRD is determined by the revenue derived from a special tax raised within the Division. A special tax requires approval by two-thirds of the individuals who are registered to vote within the Division boundaries.
Often, larger up-front costs are required to pay for improvements to bring the road surfaces (which may have declined from years of neglect) up to a maintainable standard, and cover Division formation costs and interim maintenance costs until the tax role taxes can be collected. The County is currently considering a means to loan these up-front costs to a Division, with repayment of some of these costs over a number of years at the County's normal interest earnings rate (very reasonable rates compared with conventional financing).
One advantage would be that your road would be maintained on a regular, scheduled basis. This can help prevent the need for more costly repairs to the road and can also save on automobile repairs. Another advantage is that every property owner within the Zone of Benefit or Permanent Road Division must pay their share. If you are paying your share of the maintenance of your road and your neighbor is not, you are certainly paying more for road maintenance than you would have to if everybody paid. The assessment or special tax for the Zone of Benefit or Permanent Road Division is added to the property tax bills of everyone within the Zone of Division. All arrangements for the maintenance work are made by County staff from a list of qualified local contractors or on a reimbursement basis for County maintenance crews.
The single disadvantage is an increase in cost. Under the Zone of Benefit or Permanent Road Division program, a portion of the road maintenance assessment or special tax is used to pay County staff for the administration of the Zone or Division. Once a Zone or Division is established, this cost runs about 10% per year of the total annual assessment or special tax. A fairly large initial cost is involved in the formation of the Zone for the Zone or Division mapping and filing fees required by the State Board of Equalization. Another added cost is incurred because the County maintenance is paying "prevailing wage" (Union scale). Since most contractors do not usually pay their workers prevailing wage, private persons or private road maintenance associations can usually hire a contractor at a lower rate than the County can. The increase in cost to property owners who pay their share may be partially or completely offset by the County's ability to ensure that all property owners within a Zone or Division pay their share in cases where some owners do not make voluntary contributions to the road maintenance.
You should inquire about a qualified tax consultant in this regard.
The staff of the Public Works Department is happy to help. There is no charge for initial consultations and/or meetings. Please give us a call at 707-263-2341 or 707-994-4824 to set up an appointment. It is usually more productive if we meet with most of the entire group of homeowners concerned, rather than meeting with each owner separately.
Any adult offender that is committed to a state institution for a violent offense will be released on parole. They will be supervised by state parole officials and the Probation Department will have no jurisdiction over their case with respect to supervision. Offenders that are placed on probation may be supervised by the Probation Department or may be on conditional release/summary probation. With respect to conditional release/summary probation cases, individuals are on probation directly to the court and are not supervised by the probation office. Individuals sentenced to the state prison for a non-violent offense will be supervised on PRCS by the Probation Department.
Additionally, individuals sentenced to serve in Lake County Jail on a prison sentence will serve a portion of their sentence on mandatory community supervision.
Other jurisdictions may request "courtesy supervision" of the Lake County Probation Department. If the request is granted, our agency will provide supervision services. However, in some cases, the other county or state does not request courtesy supervision which means that we have no supervision responsibilities/rights over the individual.
Juvenile offenders may be on probation until age 21. However, the court may order a shorter period of supervision. The standard term of probation for an adult offender (felony) is 3 years, although this term can be 5 years or more, depending upon the crime.
With the exception of minor traffic matters, all juvenile offenders and all adult offenders convicted of a felony are referred to the Probation Department for a presentence investigation and recommendation before sentencing occurs. It is therefore possible that Probation staff will be engaged in this particular activity, but that the offender will not be placed on probation at sentencing.
Generally, the law prohibits dissemination of information about probation clients, especially juveniles, by the Probation Department. However, victims of crimes may be entitled to limited information and should contact the department with their request. Remember, the Probation Department does not handle all cases, therefore, victims may find it necessary to contact the District Attorney, or the Victim-Witness Division of the District Attorney's Office - depending on the case.
No, they have a right to confidentiality even with respect to their spouse or parents. Parents of juvenile offenders are provided with a substantial amount of information concerning their children.
It is important to remember that the Probation Department does not collect restitution in every case. Please refer to the agency that initiated contact with you regarding this issue. This may be the Collections Department for the County of Lake. You will have had contact with a probation officer if we are involved in the collection of your restitution.
Although Juvenile Home staff are under the direct control of the Chief Probation Officer and the facility is a division of the Probation Department, statutes clearly define their duties. Specifically, juvenile correctional officers and Juvenile Home staff are in charge of the custody, security and control of offenders detained within the facility. Current law mandates that probation officers handle most casework issues that are related to offenders that are detained within the Juvenile Home. Do not contact juvenile correctional officers on holidays or weekends in an attempt to resolve probation (supervision) issues.
Current law does not allow juvenile offenders to post bail.
Commissary privileges are not available to juvenile offenders. You may not bring money into the facility for your child.
Once a juvenile is booked into the detention facility, only a probation officer or a juvenile court judge can have them released to a parent or relative. Law enforcement generally causes offenders to be booked into the facility, but they have no authority with respect to when and how that offender is released.
Property usage permits are required when any organized or planned event taking place on county property is sponsored by a publicly recognized organization (profit or non-profit), person, business, or other entity which invites, advertises, or seeks entrants in excess of 25 participants.
Racing events are prohibited except under specific circumstances. Questions pertaining to racing events on Clear Lake should be directed to the County Administrative Office at 707-263-2580 or for racing events involving county roads to the Department of Public Works at 707-263-2341.
As a general rule, a permit is not required when family groups (weddings, reunions, including school reunions) and other similar groups, not associated with an established organization, hold an event where there are less than 100 participants.
Contact Public Works at 707-263-2341 to determine if your planned event qualifies.
A provisional ballot is a regular ballot that is placed in a special envelope prior to being put in the ballot box.
Provisional ballots are ballots cast by voters who:
Your provisional ballot will be counted after elections officials have confirmed that you are registered to vote in that county and you did not already vote in that election.
You may vote a provisional ballot at any polling place in the county in which you are registered to vote, however, only the elections contests you are eligible to vote for will be counted.
Every voter who casts a provisional ballot has the right to find out from their county elections official if the ballot was counted and, if not, the reason why it was not counted. Please call our office at 707-263-2372 or toll-free at 888-235-6730 if you need assistance.
This federal and state tax-supported program provides specialized medical care and rehabilitation services for children whose families cannot provide all or part of the care. Children with commercial (private) health insurance may or may not be eligible for some services depending upon their insurance plan. California's medical program for treating children with physically disabling conditions was started by The California Legislature in 1927. Many life threatening or disabling conditions are eligible for benefits under the CCS program. For more information, contact us at 707-263-5806
The California Children's Services program goals are:
For more information, contact us at 707-263-5806
The program is available to California residents:
The Medical Therapy Program is located currently at Konocti Education Center. Financial eligibility is not a factor in qualifying for therapeutic services at the Medical Therapy Unit. For more information, contact 707-995-1596.
You should apply for the CCS program at the local CCS office in the county where you reside. This does not include the county where you are employed. This office can be contacted by phone for assistance. Your county CCS office can tell you if your child may be eligible for the CCS program. CCS eligibility must be determined before services can be covered by CCS. For more information, contact us at 707-263-5806
The Lake County CCS office will consider your child's medical condition as well as the family's residential and financial status to determine CCS eligibility. This is accomplished by completing the necessary application forms and providing the required documentation. Based on this information and completed paperwork the CCS program will approve or deny your application. For more information, contact us at 707-263-1090
Your child might be eligible for the CCS program even though you have private health insurance coverage, depending on the extent of coverage. If your child is a CCS applicant/client and has individual or group private health insurance coverage, you must report it to the county CCS office and to the child's health care provider. For more information, contact us at 707-263-5806
Per state regulations:
Some families may be required to pay an annual assessment fee and/or annual enrollment fee. These fees are used to help cover the cost of treatment, processing applications, telephoning hospitals, physicians and other caregivers, mailing authorizations to these caregivers, and coordinating care with the CCS agencies. All these services are provided by the CCS program to ensure that clients receive the best care possible from approved physicians and specialists who provide medical care to children. The annual assessment fee is $20 and the annual enrollment fee is calculated based on income and family size. For more information, contact us at 707-263-5806
Applicants/clients or families applying for the CCS program whose incomes exceed 100 percent of the federal poverty level are required to pay the annual assessment fee unless they are determined by the county CCS office to be exempt from paying the fee. For more information, contact us at 707-263-5806
Applicants/clients or families with full Medi-cal benefits without a monthly share of cost
If a family is unable to pay the full fee because of undue hardship, the family may ask for reconsideration in writing. Undue hardship means, for example, the family now has either less income due to unemployment or change in job; or, unavoidable expenses that reduce the ability to pay. The county may then reduce or waive the fee. The family may formally appeal a county's decision and should ask the county how to file an appeal under CCS regulations. For more information, contact us at 707-263-5806
Anyone may refer a child to CCS; Public health/school nurses, other agencies, or the family itself may refer to CCS to determine if the child has an approved CCS medically eligible condition. Complete referral information includes the name of the family physician and contact information.
Most children are referred by the family physician, specialist, hospital, or Medi-Cal Managed Care Plan. The physician, hospital or Managed Care Plan can supply important medical information necessary in making the CCS medical eligibility determination and may also participate in the child's CCS treatment program.
For more information, contact us at 707-263-5806.
Private physicians, community health centers, and some local school districts provide CHDP health assessments at no charge to income-eligible families throughout Lake County.
If your child receives Medi-Cal health benefits, they are eligible for the CHDP program. Children whose families meet the program's income guidelines are also eligible. Call the CHDP program at (707) 263-1090 to learn if your child qualifies.
Referrals: Parents can connect with a Certified Application Assistor who will help determine which insurance program is best for your child or family.
Outreach and Education: The CHDP program can participate in community events such as health fairs and festivals and provide health educational materials to physician offices. The CHDP program has health information on many topics ranging from nutrition to child safety.
For information and referrals contact CHDP at (707) 263-1090
Vaccination is our most powerful tool to help protect ourselves, loved ones, our community and ultimately end the pandemic. The vaccines give you strong protection from getting and spreading COVID-19 and even greater protection from serious illness, hospitalization and death from the virus.
No. If you have insurance, your doctor or pharmacy may charge your insurance company a fee for giving the vaccine. People without health insurance can get COVID-19 vaccines at no cost. There are no out-of-pocket costs for anyone.
No. COVID-19 vaccine is being given to Lake County residents at no cost, regardless of immigration status. You should not be asked about your immigration status when you get a COVID vaccine. Your medical information is private and getting a COVID-19 vaccine does not affect your immigration status.
People are considered fully vaccinated after one of the following:
If it has been less than 2 weeks since your shot, or if you still need to get your second dose, you are not fully protected. Keep taking all prevention steps until you are fully vaccinated.
Yes. You should get vaccinated even if you already had COVID-19. That's because experts do not yet know how long you are protected from getting sick again after recovering from COVID-19. Even if you have already recovered from COVID-19, it is possible-although rare-that you could be infected with the virus that causes COVID-19 again.
Studies have shown that vaccination provides a strong boost in protection in people who have recovered from COVID-19.
Learn more about why getting vaccinated is a safer way to build protection than getting infected.
If you were treated for COVID-19 with monoclonal antibodies or convalescent plasma, you should wait 90 days before getting a COVID-19 vaccine. Talk to your doctor if you are unsure what treatments you received or if you have more questions about getting a COVID-19 vaccine.
Yes. COVID-19 vaccines are safe and effective. COVID-19 vaccines were evaluated in tens of thousands of participants in clinical trials. The vaccines met the Food and Drug Administration's (FDA) rigorous scientific standards for safety, effectiveness, and manufacturing quality needed to support emergency use authorization (EUA). Learn more about them in an EUA YouTube video.
Millions of people in the United States have received COVID-19 vaccines since they were authorized for emergency use by FDA. These vaccines have undergone and will continue to undergo the most intensive safety monitoring in U.S. history. This monitoring includes using both established and new safety monitoring systems to make sure that COVID-19 vaccines are safe.
Pregnant and recently pregnant people are more likely to get severely ill with COVID-19 compared with non-pregnant people. If you are pregnant, you can receive a COVID-19 vaccine. Getting a COVID-19 vaccine during pregnancy can protect you from severe illness from COVID-19. If you have questions about getting vaccinated, a conversation with your healthcare provider might help, but is not required for vaccination.
Yes. COVID-19 vaccines were evaluated in tens of thousands of participants in clinical trials. The vaccines met the Food and Drug Administration's (FDA) rigorous scientific standards for safety, effectiveness, and manufacturing quality needed to support emergency use authorization (EUA). Learn more by viewing an EUA YouTube video.
You may get side effects, like the ones after the flu vaccine or shingles vaccine after getting a COVID-19
vaccine. For two-dose vaccines, side effects are more common after the second dose. These side effects may affect your ability to do daily activities, but they should go away within a day or two. Not everyone gets side effects. They may include:
Side effects are normal and a sign that the vaccine is working. It shows your body is learning to fight a germ and build up immunity. It is important to get the second dose even if you get side effects after the first dose unless a vaccination provider or your doctor tells you not to.
Contact your doctor if you have any of the following:
mRNA vaccines, like Moderna or Pfizer's Comirnaty, contain material from the virus that causes COVID-19 that gives our cells instructions for how to make a harmless protein that is unique to the virus. After our cells make copies of the protein, they destroy the genetic material from the vaccine. Our bodies recognize that the protein should not be there and build defensive cells that will remember how to fight the virus that causes COVID-19 if we are infected in the future.
Vector vaccines, like Johnson and Johnson (Janssen), contain a modified version of a different virus than the one that causes COVID-19. Inside the shell of the modified virus, there is material from the virus that causes COVID-19. This is called a viral vector. Once the viral vector is inside our cells, the genetic material gives cells instructions to make a protein that is unique to the virus that causes COVID-19. Using these instructions, our cells make copies of the protein. This prompts our bodies to build specialized cells that will remember how to fight that virus if we are infected in the future.
Serious side effects that could cause a long-term health problem are extremely unlikely following any vaccination, including COVID-19 vaccination. Vaccine monitoring has historically shown that side effects generally happen within six weeks of receiving a vaccine dose. For this reason, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) required each of the authorized COVID-19 vaccines to be studied for at least two months (eight weeks) after the final dose. Millions of people have received COVID-19 vaccines, and no long-term side effects have been detected.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) continue to closely monitor the safety of COVID-19 vaccines. If scientists find a connection between a safety issue and a vaccine, FDA and the vaccine manufacturer will work toward an appropriate solution to address the specific safety concern (for example, a problem with a specific lot, a manufacturing issue, or the vaccine itself).
No. COVID-19 vaccines do not change or interact with your DNA in any way. Both mRNA and viral vector COVID-19 vaccines deliver instructions (genetic material) to our cells to start building protection against the virus that causes COVID-19. However, the material never enters the nucleus of the cell, which is where our DNA is kept.
No. None of the authorized COVID-19 vaccines in the United States contain the live virus that causes COVID-19. This means that a COVID-19 vaccine cannot make you sick with COVID-19. COVID-19 vaccines teach our immune systems how to recognize and fight the virus that causes COVID-19. Sometimes this process can cause symptoms, such as fever. These symptoms are normal and are signs that the body is building protection against the virus that causes COVID-19. Learn more about how COVID-19 vaccines work.
Serious side effects are rare. As with any medicine, it is possible to have a serious allergic reaction, such as not being able to breathe. This reaction is very rare but if it does happen, it is usually within in first 15 to 30 minutes after vaccination. Everyone is observed after getting a COVID-19 vaccine so that healthcare providers can treat an allergic reaction straight away.
There is a risk of a rare but serious condition involving blood clots and low platelets in people after receiving the Johnson and Johnson COVID-19 Vaccine. This risk is very low. This problem is rare and happened in about 7 per 1 million vaccinated women between 18 and 49 years old. For women 50 years and older and men of any age, this problem is even more rare. This problem has not been linked to the other two COVID-19 vaccines (Pfizer and Moderna).
If you are experiencing life-threatening symptoms, please call 911 immediately. If you currently have urgent or concerning symptoms, please contact your primary healthcare provider.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and Food and Drug Administration (FDA) encourages people to report possible adverse events after vaccination to Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System (VAERS), even if they are not sure the vaccine caused the problem. In general, report any side effect or health problem after vaccination that is concerning to you. Reporting adverse events to VAERS helps scientists at CDC and FDA keep vaccines safe.
Please visit the VAERS website for more information or to report an adverse event.
No. Receiving a COVID-19 vaccine will not make you magnetic, including at the site of vaccination which is usually your arm. COVID-19 vaccines do not contain ingredients that can produce an electromagnetic field at the site of your injection. All COVID-19 vaccines are free from metals. Learn more about the ingredients in the COVID-19 vaccinations authorized for use in the United States.
Vaccine ingredients can vary by manufacturer. To learn more about the ingredients in authorized COVID-19 vaccines, visit the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) webpage.
Yes. Comprehensive clinical trials in more than 4,500 children ages 5 to 11 demonstrate the COVID-19 vaccine is safe and effective in this age group, resulting in a strong antibody response in children who received the vaccines.
Clinical trials began in June for 5 to 11 year-olds in which a lower dose Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine was tested. Pfizer announced in late September that their data demonstrated the vaccine is safe and produces a significant immune response. After this thorough study and the clinical trials, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) authorized the Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine for emergency use. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and Western States Scientific Review Group reviewed all data and recommended the vaccine for all children ages 5 to 11.
There's consistent and real-world evidence of the vaccine's safety and effectiveness. The vaccine has been given safely to millions of youth since it was authorized for ages 16 and up last December and for ages 12 and up in May.
California was allocated 1.2 million pediatric doses with additional supply from the federal government becoming available in the coming weeks. Distribution of these vaccines will be the same as throughout the vaccination effort with direct shipments to local health jurisdictions and providers.
The COVID-19 vaccine for children ages 5 to 11 contains a smaller amount of the same mRNA material that has been given safely to millions of youth since it was authorized for ages 16 and up last December and for ages 12 and up in May.
The dosage of Pfizer's ages 5 to 11 vaccine is in two, 10-micrograms (mcg) doses administered 21 days apart. This dosage is one-third of the adolescent and adult dose of two, 30-mcg doses.
The clinical trials demonstrated a robust antibody response and favorable safety outcomes in kids ages 5 to 11 who received the two-dose regimen.
After COVID-19 vaccination, some children - like adults - may have some mild side effects like soreness, headache, fever, chills. These are normal signs that your body is building immunity and, while they may affect your child's ability to do daily activities, they should go away in a few days.
Some people have no side effects at all. The risks from COVID-19 far outweigh the possible mild side effects from the vaccine.
Children are susceptible to serious complications from the virus and will benefit from the protection given by the vaccine. COVID-19 is the 8th leading cause of death for children ages 5 to 11. Children can also experience "long COVID" and in some instances, the virus has caused Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C), in which a hyperactive immune system attacks the child's body.
California will administer vaccines with the strategies laid out in the state's COVID-19 Vaccine Action Plan (PDF). The state will be leveraging existing infrastructure and partnerships currently used to administer vaccines for 12 and up. This includes working closely with local health departments, schools, community partners and others to administer vaccines safely and equitably through mobile clinics and vaccine pop-ups in hardest-hit communities across the state.
There are many ways to get your eligible children vaccinated by either making an appointment or visiting a walk-in clinic. You can call your pediatrician or local health clinic to schedule your child's vaccination appointment. You can also visit the MyTurn website or call 833-422-4255 to find a vaccine near you.
Scientists and doctors recommend that children and adolescents ages 5 and up get the vaccine, even if they've had COVID-19. We don't know how long someone is protected from getting sick after recovering from the virus. And we don't know whether the immunity developed against one strain provides enough protections against new variants.
Here's what we know: These free, safe, and effective vaccines will help kids fend off the worst outcomes of this infectious virus, including the highly contagious Delta variant.
Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E) plans to proactively shut off power when extreme fire danger conditions are present. These events are known as Public Safety Power Shutoffs (PSPS). Areas that have been determined Elevated or Extreme Risk Areas for Wildfire are more likely to be subject to a PSPS. The California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) has published maps and information on their Fire Safety Rulemaking process.
Because of the interconnectedness of the State's electrical grid, even those who do not live in designated Elevated or Extreme risk areas may lose power for an extended period.
It is critical that Lake County residents Sign up for Emergency Alerts, and Prepare Now.
In a webinar hosted June 26, 2019 Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E) officials noted that weather events requiring proactive power shutoff have historically been, "1 day or less in duration," but cautioned that California residents should "Be prepared for 48 hour outages, potentially even longer."
As the Lake County Record-Bee and other outlets have reported, PG&E has Publicly Stated Proactive Outages Could Last as Long as 5 Days.
Limited daylight hours may present challenges as the fall season progresses, and "Diablo winds," which are among the factors that could prompt a PSPS affecting Lake County, are historically most common in early summer and fall.
PG&E Report to CPUC Regarding June 7th through 9th, 2019 PSPS Event (PDF).
Per Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E), San Diego Gas and Electric Company (SDG&E) pioneered the PSPS approach in California, and over time, through enhanced technology and other measures, they have been able to reduce the total impact of PSPS events.
SDG&E has been able to isolate shutoffs to narrower areas than is presently possible with PG&E's electrical infrastructure. However, SDG&E has yet to be able to entirely eliminate the PSPS as a tool.
PG&E, likewise, hopes to decrease the impact of PSPS events, over time, and they are taking proactive measures in their maintenance work to harden their grid and reduce the need to proactively shut off power. Techniques known to limit fire risk, such as undergrounding of wires, are also being employed in new infrastructure development, when feasible.
Learn more about the PG&E Wildfire Safety Program.
When considering turning off electric power lines for public safety, PG&E's Wildfire Safety Operations Center monitors a set of factors, including (per PG&E):
Pacific Gas and Electric's 3-minute video explainer - Video Transcript (PDF).
Geothermal gases come from volcanic activity deep within the Earth. In affected areas, gases sometimes rise to the Earth's surface through small cracks and other openings. The small openings in the ground where gases escape are called "fumaroles" or "vents". Hot springs result from the deep venting of hot water and may also contain gases.
Geothermal gases can be dangerous when found in high concentrations, but are rapidly diluted to harmless levels when they are exposed to fresh open air. Gases can also travel through soil and into indoor air through cracks in foundations and utilities. Houses with cement foundations ("slab-on-grade") have the greatest risk for gases moving from underground into indoor air. These gases can make people sick if they accumulate in enclosed spaces, buildings or low-lying areas such as a basement or crawl space. At high levels they can cause suffocations or sometimes explosions. Children and pets are most sensitive to the effects of geothermal gases because they are closer to the ground.
Fish, in general, are:
Mercury is a metal that comes from natural sources, mining, and air fallout from burning coal and other fuels. The Northern California Coast Range, where Clear Lake is located, is naturally rich in mercury and other ores. The Sulphur Bank Mercury Mine, located on the shore of Clear Lake, has caused mercury contamination of the lake sediments
Once mercury gets into the water, it settles to the bottom where bacteria in the mud or sand change it to the organic form methylmercury. Methylmercury, a more toxic form of mercury, gets into fish and shellfish through the food they eat. It is passed up the food chain from small plants and animals to larger, older fish, where it builds up.
For more information visit the Environmental Health Mercury in Fish page.
Mercury from volcanoes, coal burning power plants, and mines gets into the water. In the water, the mercury is turned into a form that can be absorbed by fish. Small fish become contaminated with mercury, which are then eaten by larger fish. The largest fish have more mercury because they eat lots of smaller fish and they tend to live longer, so they build up more mercury in their bodies over time. Mercury attaches to the protein in the muscle, or fillet, of fish, and cannot be removed by cooking or cleaning the fish.
When exposed to high amounts of mercury, children and babies may have problems learning, paying attention, remembering things, walking and talking. A developing fetus (or unborn baby), babies, children and teenagers are more vulnerable to the harms of mercury than adults because their brains are still developing, and it takes smaller amounts of mercury to cause health problems. During pregnancy, mercury can pass from a mother to the fetus. In smaller amounts, it can also pass into breast milk. Older children are also vulnerable to mercury because their brains are still developing.
The brain and nervous system are most affected by mercury. Adults exposed to high amounts of mercury may have problems with headaches, numbness and tingling, loss of balance, difficultly walking, shaking, difficulty hearing, and changes in vision, among other problems. It takes about 70 days for the amount of mercury in your body to decrease by half, once you stop eating high-mercury fish. A person can reduce the amount of mercury in their body substantially by limiting consumption of fish for three months or more.
In order to protect families from the harms of mercury from fish, it is important to check local fish advisory when eating fish caught in California. A fish advisory provides information in order to make healthy choices on eating fish caught in the state, and will help identify fish to eat that are low in mercury and other chemicals.
Fish advisories can be found on:
Fish is a healthy source of protein. The best way to limit one's exposure to mercury is to choose fish with lower levels or to eat smaller portions of mercury-containing fish. Consult advisories to determine which fish are best to eat for pregnant women and children.
Lead poisoning is the accumulation of lead in the body. Lead usually enters the body in the form of lead dust that is breathed in or by eating something that has been contaminated with lead. Children under 6 years old absorb lead more easily and are more easily harmed by lead.
Lead poisoning can happen slowly over time as lead builds up in the body or can happen suddenly if someone is exposed to a lot of lead at once. Most children who have lead poisoning do not look or act sick. The only way to know if someone has lead poisoning is by getting a blood lead test.
There is no known "safe" level of lead to have in the body. Any measurable amount of lead in the body may have negative health effects and can cause lifelong learning and behavior problems. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention currently uses a reference level of 5 micrograms per deciliter (5 mcg/dL) or higher to identify children who have an elevated blood lead level.
Lead poisoning can be treated but most of the damage caused by lead poisoning is permanent. The good news is that lead poisoning is preventable.
Common sources of lead poisoning include:
Lead poisoning is completely preventable. The key is to prevent lead exposure before your family is poisoned. The following are ways to protect your children from lead poisoning:
Older homes and buildings built before 1978 may contain lead-based paint. Disturbing lead-based paint during remodeling and repainting can create dangerous lead dust. Visit the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) website for more information on renovating or painting your home.
Please visit the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission Recall List to view lead-related and other product recalls.
Feed children a healthy diet with foods rich in calcium, iron, and vitamin C (see the following list for examples). These nutrients help prevent lead from being absorbed by the body and can also help remove lead from the body:
For more information about preventing lead poisoning in your child through nutrition, take a look at these handouts:
Oral health concerns the health of your teeth, gums, and mouth as a whole. Often considered to be unrelated to overall health, oral health is actually a major component. As you would see a doctor regularly for general check-ups, you should see a dentist for the same reason. Receiving a dental exam and routine cleaning at least once a year are key actions you should take to ensure your mouth stays healthy.
Although oral conditions are often considered separate from other health conditions, they are actually interrelated. Poor oral health is associated with chronic diseases such as diabetes, heart disease, and cancer. It can cause unnecessary pain and suffering, lead to missed school and work, and cost a significant amount of money. Conditions such as tooth decay, gum disease, and tooth loss are all direct results of poor oral health. For these reasons, it is in your best interest to care for your mouth as much as you care for your body.
Keeping your mouth healthy is a lifelong commitment that begins with learning proper oral health habits. Dentists play an important role and should be seen regularly. Along with regular brushing and flossing, dentist visits can help minimize oral health problems. With proper care, costly dental procedures and long-term health issues can be prevented.
Source: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Oral Health Conditions Page
You should see a dentist regularly for check-ups, which is usually once or twice a year, but can be more depending on your situation. However, if you experience any unusual symptoms, you should see a dentist as soon as possible.
Choosing a primary dental care provider is a big decision. To aid in your decision-making, it is a good idea to have a consultation with potential providers and discuss any questions or concerns you may have. It also gives you an opportunity to get a feel for the atmosphere and the office environment. You want to choose a dental office that is comfortable, welcoming, and clean.
Your child should see a dentist after their first tooth erupts, but no later than their first birthday. This is because they can develop cavities as soon as they have teeth. It is best to be proactive, rather than reactive.
As soon as your child's first tooth comes in, you should begin brushing their teeth to remove plaque on the surface. You can use a small, soft-bristled toothbrush or a damp cloth, whichever you find works best for you.
Yes, baby teeth are important because, as said by American Dental Association dentist Dr. Maria Lopez-Howell, "They are nature's braces." Baby teeth serve as placeholders for your child's permanent teeth that will come in at later ages.
Fluoride, being a natural-occurring mineral, is safe for human intake. Nearly all water contains a small amount of fluoride; it is also found in soil, plants, and food. Receiving a fluoride varnish or drinking fluoridated water is simply a way to increase teeth's exposure to fluoride to maximize its effectiveness against tooth decay.
You will need:
Anyone who has been directed to complete a Driving Under the Influence Education Program by a California court and/or California Department of Motor Vehicles.
If your incident is an emergency, call 911. If non-emergency call 707-263-2690.
No, if the incident took place outside of the jurisdiction of the County of Lake please call the law enforcement agency responsible for that jurisdiction.
If this took place on a State Highway please call the California Highway Patrol Office nearest you.
A known suspect is when you know the person who committed the crime.
FOG refers to Fats, Oil, and Grease from food preparation and kitchen clean-up. Fats, Oil, and Grease are found in such things as:
When poured down the drain, FOG can build up in pipes, pumps, and equipment, causing significant problems in the community's sewer system and wastewater treatment plant. Typical problems include sewer line blockages that can lead to sewer overflows and spills that cause environmental hazards, health hazards, and property damage.
Residential households contribute greatly to the build-up of FOG in the sewer lines because of the amount of grease washed into the plumbing system, usually through the kitchen sink. The results can be: raw sewage overflowing in your home or your neighbor's home; an expensive and unpleasant cleanup; raw sewage flowing into parks, yards, and streets; Potential contact with disease-causing organisms; and an increase in operation and maintenance costs for local sewer agencies leading to higher sewer bills for customers.
A grease interceptor is a device connected to your plumbing system, which is specifically designed to remove Fats, Oil, and Grease (FOG) from the wastewater before it can enter the sewer system. It works by slowing the flow of water to allow the FOG to float to the top where it is contained within the baffle system.
There are several types and sizes of gravity grease interceptors ranging from large 1000 to 1500-gallon in-ground units to smaller under-counter units, known as hydromechanical grease interceptors.
The proper pumping and cleaning frequently are dependent upon many variables, such as the type of food preparation, cooking and cleaning methods, the volume of food or meals prepared, and the size of your gravity grease interceptor. Lake County Special Districts recommend that all gravity grease interceptors are inspected frequently and owners use the "25% Rule" where interceptors are pumped out when the combined thickness of the floating FOG and settleable solids layers exceed 25% of the total liquid depth of the interceptor. All gravity grease interceptors should be pumped out at least once every three months.
To effectively remove FOG, a gravity grease interceptor must retain the water long enough for the FOG and settleable solids to separate within the baffle chamber. Lake County Special Districts suggest that gravity grease interceptors are sized to match the number of Drainage Fixture Units (DFUs) of the kitchen or source as follows:
Example #1: Typical fast food kitchen = 17 DFUs = 750 gallon GGIExample #2: Typical larger kitchen = 45 DFUs = 1250 gallon GGI
Please note: For a smaller hydro-mechanical unit, use the Hydro-Mechanical Grease Traps Calculation Sheet (PDF).
FOG in the sewer system builds up on the walls of the sewer lines, accumulates in pump station wet wells, creates odors, and clogs pumping and sensing equipment. When FOG builds up on the walls of the sewer line it reduces the system's capacity and can result in complete blockage. This results in sewer backups and overflows, greatly increased man hours and maintenance costs, equipment downtime, and fines.
No, any food or restaurant establishment that does not have a properly sized and properly maintained gravity grease interceptor is in violation of the sewer use ordinance.
Provisions were made in the ordinance to allow facilities with no or low levels of grease to be exempt from the requirements. The facility must provide information and sampling data that substantiate the request. Other facilities could request a variance from the sizing requirements and be allowed to install approved types of smaller interior hydromechanical grease interceptors and grease removal devices.
Absolutely. The ground-up solids that go through the disposal will settle to the bottom of the grease interceptor and take up valuable space. The reduced volume will lower the detention time of the device and will reduce its efficiency. The increased loading will also lead to an increase in needed maintenance frequency.
Special Districts Administration can permit the installation of certain types of interior hydromechanical grease interceptors and grease removal devices instead of the exterior in instances of space limitations. However, smaller interior units require substantially increased maintenance and implementation of best management practices to maintain compliance and effective grease removal. Please contact Lake County Special Districts at 707-263-0119 to be considered for interior hydromechanical grease interceptor approval.
Most plumbers and plumbing contractors install gravity grease interceptors and hydromechanical grease interceptors. All installations must comply with California Plumbing Code Requirements.
If you have any questions or would like additional information, please feel free to contact the Lake County Special Districts Administration at 707-263-0119.
Immediately contact the Lake County Special Districts Administration at 707-263-0119 to report the problem. After hours, the District's answering service will forward your complaint to emergency stand-by maintenance personnel.
We are on duty seven days a week, 24 hours a day. If you have a backup, contact the Lake County Special Districts Administration at 707-263-0119 to report your problem. We will dispatch a maintenance crew to your address to find out if the stoppage is in the District's main or your private line (building sewer). If the sewer main is found to be clear, it is the responsibility of the property owner to call a licensed plumber or drain cleaning service to correct the problem. The property owner is responsible for maintaining adequate flow to and through the building sewer from the property structure to the property line cleanout. If the stoppage is in the District's main, we'll fix it as quickly as possible and keep you informed about what is being done.
If a problem with the main line caused the backup, we can help with the cleanup. If a cleanup crew is required, the superintendent will make the necessary arrangements to have the property cleaned and sanitized. If the problem is on the private side of the line (building sewer), it is the responsibility of the property owner to call a licensed plumber or drain service to correct the problem and clean up the spill.
As soon as you notice slow-running drains you should stop using your home's drainage fixtures, call a plumber or the District office. If the problem is in the building sewer, call your plumber to clear the blockage before it gets bad enough to become a backup. Roots, grease, and debris are the most common cause of blocked sewers. Take these precautions:
A sewer lateral is a section of pipe from the property line to the mainline sewer in the street. This section is sometimes referred to as the "public" side. The section of pipe between the property line and the structure is called the building sewer. This section is sometimes referred to as the "private" side. Every building receiving sewer service has at least one building sewer and sewer lateral.
The sewer lateral (the section between the property line and the mainline sewer) is owned and maintained by the District. The building sewer (the section between the property line and the structure) is owned and maintained by the property owner. It is private property, considered part of the house plumbing. Property line cleanout Should be installed by the homeowner at the property line.
For sewer laterals with installed property line cleanouts, the District will clean the lateral sewer from the cleanout to the mainline. If at the time of connection to an existing lateral, the property owner or contractor did not install a property line cleanout, it is the property owner's responsibility to install one. The property line cleanout allows access to the county-maintained section of pipe in order to clear blockages from the property line to the main.
A sewer cleanout is a point of access where the sewer lateral can be serviced. According to Special District specifications, it should be 4-inch in diameter with a tight-fitting steel or plastic cap over it. Two cleanouts are typically installed at each house or building. One is located just outside of the building (plumbing cleanout), and one is located at the property line (property line cleanout).
Visually inspect your front or rear yard for a sewer cleanout box. A cleanout looks like the end of a pipe with a cap on it. All cleanouts must be properly capped with a tight-fitting steel or plastic cap.
If you are unsuccessful in locating one, you either do not have one or it may be buried under dirt or concrete. Special Districts can provide you with a map of the lateral location and a plumber can assist you in locating it.
No. Sewer cleanouts belong to the property owner. It is the responsibility of the property owner to install a property line cleanout.
Contact your local building department and request a permit for a sewer cleanout installation. (Anyone can install a Property Line Cleanout (PLCO). It does not require a licensed contractor). This installation will be inspected by Special District staff.
No. The area between the property line sewer cleanout and the house (owner's side) is the responsibility of the property owner and must be repaired/serviced by the owner or designated service personnel.
Yes. A permit is required to repair the building sewer. An inspector will inspect the pipe to validate that the work was performed according to the code. If you need guidance as to policies or procedures please contact your local building department.
Permits can be obtained through your local building department. When visiting your local building department, ask for a permit for building sewer repair.
FOG refers to Fats, Oil, and Grease from food preparation, food services, and kitchen clean-up. It is generated in most types of restaurants and food service establishment kitchens.
When poured down the drain, FOG can cool and congeal in pipes, pumps, and equipment, causing significant problems in the community's sewer system and wastewater treatment plants. Typical problems include sewer line blockages that can lead to sewer overflows and spills that cause environmental and health hazards, odors, property damage, and loss of customers.
Restaurants and food service establishments contribute greatly to the build-up of FOG in the sewer lines because of the amount of grease produced during cooking, food preparation, and kitchen clean-up. If your establishment is found to cause a sanitary sewer overflow because you have not controlled grease discharge, you may be responsible for the clean-up costs, any fines resulting from the discharge, as well as the costs associated with property damage resulting from the spill. Your facility's public image will also be impacted by sewer problems.
All restaurants and food service establishments in Lake County are required to install, utilize, and properly maintain gravity grease interceptors or hydro mechanical units (Lake County Sewer Use Ordinance section 605 and section 606). Penalties for non-compliance range from fines to disconnection of service.
It is a program required by the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) to detect and prevent other (non-drinking) water sources from entering the public water system.
Cross-connections potentially enable other (non-drinking) water sources of unknown quality to co-mingle with the public water system. Our backflow prevention program identifies and prevents cross-connections. A backflow prevention device will be required if a potential for cross-connection exists.
If your home water system is connected to a source of water other than your water supply - a cross-connection has occurred. "Indirect" cross-connections may occur by garden hoses and temporary connections that may be connected for only a few minutes. Direct cross-connections are more permanent hard-pipe arrangements.
Backflow is the backward flow of water through a pipe into the public water system. The normal direction of water flow is from the utility water main to homes or businesses. The backflow of water from home plumbing systems into community drinking water happens when water is pulled backward due to a pressure loss in the utility main pipe or pushed back by a pressure source like a well pump.
Contamination of drinking water is usually the result of cross-connections of piping between your drinking water and some other source such as an irrigation well, pond, swimming pool, or Clear Lake. The American Water Works Association (AWWA) estimates over 100,000 cross-connections occur each day - half of these from garden hoses. Backflow preventers are designed and installed to prevent the flow of water backwards through the pipe.
This is a temporary cross-connection that may exist for a short period of time. A good example of an indirect cross-connection is a garden hose attached to an outside hose bib with the end of the hose submerged in a pail, swimming pool, or pesticide dispenser. Of additional concern is that some people use the garden hose to flush out sewers and drain pipes.
Yes. Lake County Ordinance Number 1462 requires a backflow prevention device for wells. If your well is not currently cross-connected, the potential exists for a connection to occur during pump priming, maintenance, or alteration of your irrigation pump and well.
In order to protect the community water system as much as possible and meet state requirements, the backflow preventer needs to be installed as close to the water meter as possible.
Yes, there are several methods to cover and protect the backflow prevention assembly from weather, vandals, and lawn mowing equipment.
The backflow preventer is a mechanical device that needs maintenance just like a car. The annual test indicates if the internal check valves and mechanics are working properly and protecting your water.
The relief valve is installed to prevent water pressure from building up too high when the water in a water heater expands. The relief valve can be replaced with a small expansion tank that does not leak. Plugging or removing the relief valve could cause damage to your water heater or plumbing.
Depending on when you served in the military your benefits may vary. There are several programs designed for the disabled veteran who served during a war time period, but did not have any service-connected disabilities. These include monthly monetary benefits, hospitalization, and outpatient medical care.
Depending on when you served, you may be eligible for a non-service-connected pension program for you and your family.
This program will depend on the veteran being totally disabled and also on the amount of income the veteran currently has.
If you paid into the educational program you have 10 years from discharge to use your GI Bill benefits. Your children may also be eligible to go to college in California if you have any verifiable disabilities from the service which may be as small as a scar from surgery, wounds from combat, etc.
There may be, depending on how long you have been out of the service or if you now have a service-connected disability. There are time limits on both programs - for details, contact the Lake County Veterans Service Department.
Yes, if you served 24 months or more since September 7, 1980, or if you were released from the service with a medical disability or for medical reasons. Prior to September 7, 1980, you only had to have days in the service for treatment; however, all medical treatment is based on having other than dishonorable service.
All veterans who have other than dishonorable service are eligible for burial in a national cemetery, a grave marker (headstone) and a U.S. flag for the next of kin.
As long as your home loan was paid off, as many times as you need it.
Our office can help you develop your claim for these injuries regardless of how long you have been out of the service.
Our office can assist veterans in obtaining military records to support their claim for discharge upgrades and submission of same.
Depending on income, as a surviving parent, you may be eligible for compensation.
Depending on whether the veteran incurred an injury or illness in the service, the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) could provide monthly payments for children under age 18 or under the age of 22 if still in school. Also, the child may have tuition-free college in California available, depending on income.
A representative from Employers' Training Resource is available full-time at our office to assist with employment for veterans.
Trained personnel are available to assist the veteran in developing a claim and obtaining treatment for same through our office.
We can assist in ordering the military discharge forms from the National Personnel Records Center (NPRC). You will usually receive a response in three to four weeks. This process may be prolonged if the files were destroyed in the fire at NPRC in 1973. On July 12, 1973, a disastrous fire at the NPRC destroyed approximately 16 to 18 million Official Military Personnel Files (OMPF). The following records were affected:
Used motor oil can be recycled by taking to one of several Used Oil Collection Centers throughout the county.
Antifreeze can be dropped-off at no charge at the two Recycling Centers at no cost.
All other automotive fluids such as brake fluid, transmission fluid, etc. are hazardous materials. Please do not dispose of in the trash or down the drain; it is illegal and harmful to you and the environment. Fluids can be taken to HazMobile events that are held monthly around the county.
Appliances, fuel tanks, and tires must be removed. Usable building materials can be donated to Lake County Habitat for Humanity or offered on Lakeport/Kelseyville Freecycle.Dumpsters can be rented from the hauler that services the construction site. In the unicorporated areas of the County, it is illegal to have a dumpster delivered by any company other than your hauler per County ordinance.Eastlake Landfill16015 Davis St., Clearlake994-5888Includes mixed debris, non-asbestos-containing materials, non-metal pipe, flooring, dirt, asphalt, treated or painted wood, roofing, concrete. (Excess concrete will result in a recycling surcharge - or recycle at Lake County Waste Solutions and Quackenbush Mountain). Mobile homes and trailers by appointment.
Lake County Waste Solutions230 Soda Bay Rd., Lakeport234-6400 or 1-888-718-4888Includes mixed or separated debris, clean landscaping materials, asphalt shingles, tar and rock roofing, dry wall, scrap metal, concrete, brick, asphalt, and porcelain (toilets and sinks).
Quackenbush Mountain Resource Recovery & Compost Facility16520 Davis St., Clearlake707-995-0104Includes clean construction wood, clean concrete, clean asphalt, and clean dirt.
Used motor oil can be recycled by taking to one of several Used Oil Collection Centers throughout the county.
Antifreeze can be dropped-off at no charge at the two Recycling Centers at no cost.
All other automotive fluids such as brake fluid, transmission fluid, etc. are hazardous materials. Please do not dispose of in the trash or down the drain; it is illegal and harmful to you and the environment. Fluids can be taken to HazMobile events that are held monthly around the county.
AutoZone *15125 Lakeshore Dr.995-2130
O'Reilly Auto Parts *14993 Lakeshore Dr.995-9295South Lake Recycling *16015 Davis Rd.995-8614
Bayshore Marine Service *7723 Hwy 29, Kelseyville279-1094
AutoZone *2033 S. Main St., Lakeport900-6098
Hillside Honda *460 S. Main St., Lakeport263-9000
Lake County Waste Solutions *230 Soda Bay Rd.263-7682O'Reilly Auto Parts *2011 S. Main St.263-9633
Lower LakeJonas Oil16445 Main St.994-6535LucerneNorthshore FireProtection District6257 7th Ave.274-3100*Also accepts oil filters for recycling.
When disposed of in the trash or poured down a sink or storm drain, the toxic chemical components in products like paint, turpentine, acid or lye-based cleaners, household and car batteries, pesticides, and herbicides will damage the environment.These items end up in Clear Lake or other waterways endangering the health of all - children, wildlife, pets, and the environment.Household hazardous waste is collected from Lake County residents the third Friday and Saturday of each month from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at rotating ends of the lake for convenience to all residents in Lake County.Most items are accepted free. Businesses must make an appointment by calling 234-6400 and a small fee will apply. Dates, locations, and times are available on the schedule page.
Hazardous materials that can be dropped-off include:
Televisions and computer monitors are accepted at no charge at Lake County Waste Solutions and Southlake Refuse & Recycling.Paint is also available on a first-come, first-served basis at drop-off events, as well as Lake County Waste Solutions in Lakeport.You can download the drop-off schedule here: 2022 drop-off schedule. Questions? Call 262-1618 for more information.
New programs at our landfill and transfer station recycling centers:
Drop off up to 15 gallons of latex and water based paints for FREE! During regular business hours.
Drop off your Sharps in an appropriate container for FREE! During regular business hours.
MattressDrop off your mattress at the landfill for FREE! During regular business hours
If they are in good working order - donate to a thrift store or post on Freecycle.Frames - Recyclable as scrap metal at recycling center.Tires - $1 each to recycle at recycling center.Seat - Can be disposed of as trash.
Grass clippings, leaves, pruning waste, branches, unpainted and untreated wood are all considered organics, green waste and/or wood waste. Painted or treated wood must be disposed of as refuse - do NOT burn treated or painted wood! It is hazardous to your health, the environment, and it is illegal.Clean wood (nails are okay) can be recycled curbside in the green carts. (Both green waste bins and recycling bins are provided free-of-charge with regular curbside service). Small amounts of fruit and vegetable scraps my be placed in green waste containers - as all materials are composted (no meat, dairy, or ready-made products). Green waste also can be delivered to facilities for a small fee.
Cyanobacteria or blue-green algae are bacteria capable of photosynthesis - creating their own energy from the sun. These organisms occur naturally in surface water such as lakes, ponds, rivers and streams. When conditions are right (excess nutrients, warm temperatures, and sunshine) they can rapidly form blooms of harmful algal blooms characterized by the presence of toxins produced by the bacteria.
The toxins produced by the bacteria (cyanotoxin) can cause skin irritation such as rashes, hives, swelling or blisters. Consuming raw water that contains these toxins can cause liver damage. This may occur during recreational activities such as swimming. Due to their smaller size and tendency to drink lake water, pets can suffer more detrimental effects including death. Children too should be cautioned not to drink water out of the lake.
View our Health Effects and Precautions page to learn more.
Watch for public information releases from the County, monitor the Water Resources Facebook page and pay attention to Nixle announcements. If a toxic bloom is occurring the County or City will post signs stating whether there is a water contact warning or a water contact danger. Sample images of the signs:
During the warm seasons, water quality testing is conducted about every two weeks at over 20 locations throughout Clear Lake. This testing is provided by the Big Valley Band of Pomo Indians and the Elem Indian Colony. To find out if a bloom is occurring, visit the Clear Lake Cyanotoxin page.
Information on recent occurrences in Lake County, and other locations in the state can be found on the California Harmful Algal Bloom (HAB) Portal. The portal is an informational resource for the public and also functions as a tool to support coordination with statewide partners to address HAB. The content is developed by the CA Cyanobacteria and HAB Network and participating state agencies.
A group of citizens can form a Homeowners Association, a Road Maintenance Association, a Permanent Road Division, or a Zone of Benefit. To form a Homeowners or Road Maintenance Association, an attorney familiar with laws governing such organizations should be consulted. To establish a Zone of Benefit, residents should contact the Lake County Department of Public Works who can provide information on the Zone of Benefit program, a Formation Application, and a copy of the program Policy and Procedures Guidelines.
A zone of benefit is a geographic area formed under County Service Area law to provide extended services not already being provided by any other entity. Some extended services that can be provided include drainage, landscaping, lighting, and road improvement and maintenance. If you live on a road not maintained by the County Department of Public Works or some other agency, a petition can be submitted to form a zone of benefit to provide the extended service of road improvement and maintenance.
A $350 non-refundable application fee is required. This deposit will be used to defray the initial costs associated with zone formation. Formation charges exceeding the initial deposit can be recovered from the zone's first-year assessment. There may be additional costs incurred in order to meet formation requirements, such as charges by an engineer to prepare a map or legal description. These charges are paid directly to the service provider. The zone must also pay a fee to the California State Board of Equalization, based on its fee schedule. If funding is to be by a special tax, election costs would be payable to the County.
Once established, a zone will be charged annually as follows:
Administration fees which are specific to the work required in each zone, fees include:
While there is no "average" zone, annual zone administration fees usually range from $500 to $2000 per zone per year.
Any and all road work is paid from each respective zone's account. Road work within a zone of benefit is governed by the County's Informal Bidding Procedure Ordinance and Public Works contract law. Licensing, bonding, and compliance with prevailing wage standards are required.
If a Benefit Assessment is proposed and if 50% or more of the registered voters residing within the territory proposed to be included in the area, or the owners of one-half or more of the assessed value of the territory proposed to be included in the area, file written protests against the establishment of the service area, the Board must abandon the proposal.
If a two-thirds majority of the property owners are willing to sign irrevocable offers of dedication the formation can proceed. Noticed public hearings are held by the Board of Supervisors where protests can be heard. If the zone formation is approved despite the protests of an individual parcel owner, that owner will be assessed based on the benefit received along with all other parcel owners in the zone.
There are two types of fees that can be levied in the zone program, a special tax or a benefit assessment.
A special tax requires a two-thirds majority approval of the registered voters voting within the zone boundaries. A special tax can be set at a maximum and levied each year at any amount up to the maximum; it can be established with an escalator; it can also be established with a "sunset clause". Any proposed increase exceeding the approved maximum amount would require a two-thirds majority approval in another election.
Applicants should be aware of the following conditions for special taxes:
In the case of a proposed benefit assessment, a report prepared by a registered engineer explaining the benefit received by each parcel is submitted. Parcel owners within the zone boundaries will then receive a ballot to return expressing their approval or objection to the proposed assessment. If a majority of the weighted ballots received protest the assessment, it cannot be levied.
No. Upon legally merging the four parcels into a single parcel they will only be assessed for one parcel. In the benefit assessment balloting process the property owners are approving a formula i.e., improved parcels are $200.
Yes. The Resolution adopting the rules and regulations for CSA Highways specifically incorporates Division 2, Chapter 6 of the Streets and Highways Code.
Annually the assessors’ records will need to be reviewed to determine if the parcel has been developed. If developed, it will be assessed at the developed rate.
If a benefit assessment election is held, the 51% approval is only calculated based on those that vote and does not require 51% of the total proposed assessment.
As part of the formation, the members of the zone appoint Representatives and identify a Key Contact to act as liaison to the County.
The Engineering Division of the Public Works will perform annual condition and safety inspections, give recommendations for correcting any hazards that may exist and/or pavement maintenance recommendations, and the respective costs for said recommendations.
The Public Works Department develops with input from representatives a recommended budget, including specific projects and the amount of the assessment or tax to be charged to each property within the zone. The amount of the assessment must be based on the benefit received by each property with the nexus or methodology included in the proposed budget. All members of the zone have the right to speak and vote on these issues.
Public Works staff presents the zone's proposed budgets to the Board of Supervisors for approval annually. Any zone member may appear before the Board to speak on the proposed assessment and budget. If an increase to an existing assessment or an increase above the approved maximum special tax is proposed, it would be subject to the approval process described above.
Once approved by the Board and any required landowner ballot and registered voter election, the assessment or tax is added to the property tax bill for each parcel. The funds are collected with the property taxes and deposited into an interest-bearing account for the use of the zone. All funds are administered by the Administration Division of Public Works. Monies are not placed in the General Fund and cannot be used for other purposes.
At this time there are no standards established for zone roads, although compliance with Fire Safety Regulations is recommended. The members of the zone determine the level of improvements and/or maintenance for roads within their zone, subject to the approval of the Board of Supervisors.
All monies received from the zone:
Any funds budgeted but not used within the fiscal year are carried over into the zone's account for the next year. If budgeted projects are not completed, the funds will be available for the zone's use in the next year.
Zone funds cannot be used for any other purpose other than work in the zone and costs associated with the operation and administration of the zone. An exception would be if a zone were to dissolve with a balance remaining in its account. In that case, the excess funds at the time of dissolution would revert to the County General Fund.
Road Associations shall not levy assessments once the zone has been formed, and the County is still assessing properties within the zone.
Back assessments collected by the Homeowners Association for road maintenance purposes are to be transferred to the affected formed zone of benefit.
The road zone of benefit is required to contribute to the County's liability insurance policy.
A road zone of benefit can be dissolved by the initiation of the Board of Supervisors or by the initiation of the property owners or residents. A petition signed by 51% of the registered voters in the zone or property owners of 51% or more of the assessed value of the land and improvements is required to initiate a dissolution.
If the formation of a road zone was a condition of approval on a final map, a waiver of that condition must be obtained from the Planning Department before dissolution can proceed.
A filing fee of $200 is required to initiate the dissolution process. The actual costs to the County, including any fees charged by the State Board of Equalization, will be taken from the initial payment. Any costs over $200 must be paid by the zone before the dissolution will be recorded and may result in additional assessments or charges to the zone.
Any funds held in a zone account at the time of dissolution will be used for expenses related to the dissolution. If there are funds remaining once the dissolution is complete, they will revert to the County General Fund.
Since irrevocable offers of dedication exist, the road will remain a public road. The County may choose to accept the road into the County Maintained Mileage System or the County may choose to vacate the road, returning it to private use. The residents may request that the Department of Public Works vacate the roads, however, the road will remain public unless and until the Board of Supervisors take formal action to vacate the road.
No, the Association would no longer levy charges for road maintenance or provide road maintenance services, so long as the zone of benefit is providing that service.
This insurance program is a big benefit to property owners within a zone of benefit. For approximately $250 per mile, the zone of benefit is covered for liability with respect to the maintenance of the roads within its boundaries. The liability coverage is ten million dollars.
No. Under a zone of benefit, there are no plans or intent to widen, straighten, or level the roads unless provided through an improvement district formed for such purposes. The zone of benefit is for road maintenance only, and the self-insurance coverage is limited to claims arising from road maintenance work or the lack thereof.
There are senior programs that apply to assessments as well as property taxes. Eligibility is based on income, age, or disability. If they currently qualify for the program it will also apply to assessments. Application needs to be made to the State to determine eligibility for the programs.